Photo
- - - - -

How to get those beautiful reflections in the pool.

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 DerekB

DerekB

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Interests:Freediving, climbing, gymnastics, hiking, Shark diving, photography, mnt boarding, surf photography.

Posted 28 February 2011 - 05:28 PM

I am mainly a free-dive photographer, Since I've started in the photography program I have been trying to do more of the assignments and artsy work underwater.
The end of my first year in school is coming up. I would like to do an underwater Model shoot in a local pool. The type of image where it looks like the model is standing or falling into the water ( really she is floating up towards the surface.) And a few with the 50mm of just the portrait with reflections.

Here is a sketch of my two portraits I want to do.

( suppose to be sideways 90*, model is wearing face jewels)
Posted Image

Asian or AA model to look like a tribal goddess coming out of the water ( really she is underwater)

Posted Image

But How do I do this?

My inventory includes:
t2i in a nauticam housing.
50mm lens with flat port / 10-22 with dome port.
ys110a strobe with fiber optic cable
ys-27 dx with fiber optic cable but can also be slaved off camera

I was also thinking about making a skrim for the strobes off camera. As well as placing 1000watt work light above water. Is this needed?

Edited by DerekB, 28 February 2011 - 05:30 PM.

#2 Cal

Cal

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts

Posted 01 March 2011 - 12:27 AM

"How do I do this?"

Do you mean lighting wise or model placement ? Your drawings show you have a good grasp of what your trying to achieve.