• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Jasoncassanova

Jasoncassanova

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 85 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 10:20 PM

well usually we set our ISO at 100 as standard, although I have a question, what is i have two 8 in. arms holding my DS 160 Ikelite strobe and I have set it to TTL. Since my light is kinda strong and I'm still new in taking pics, the pic kinda comes out brightly lit, would it be better if i'd take it a notch down to 80 ISO? I know I can still do adjustments on Aperture and Shutter Speed, but I'd like to know if putting my ISO to 80 would make a better result?

#2 Damo

Damo

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 449 posts
  • Interests:Getting close to underwater aliens- and pulling the camera trigger

Posted 01 April 2011 - 12:14 AM

Hi ya Jason,

Well from the little bit I know- the general iso standard for underwater pics is 100 or 200.
If you have lower ISO values eg.from ISO 100 to ISO 80, and keeping all your other settings constant, yes the light should 'back off' so to speak in your image, and when you make a print, your 'grain saturation' of colours etc. should be even better!
You could also reduce your aperture at iso 100, back off on the strobes etc....there are so many combinations you can go with!

Are you finding this is 'over bright' phenomenon in your macro or in wide angle shots?
I would imagine this tactic of yours would work better for macro, because you are closer to your subject so your strobes will have more powerful effect.
If you were shooting wide angle you might actually find your pictures too underexposed with iso 80- so you may have to switch to diffent iso eg. iso 200.

So in theory, to answer your question- yes- however- this all depends on what you are shooting at the time, ambient light conditions, subject location, sizeof subject, size of scene, visibility of water etc etc etc

Its all down to experimentation and learning...and every shot condition will have a different setting.