3 replies to this topic

#1 SDiggs

SDiggs

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 May 2011 - 07:47 AM

Hey guys,

I'm somewhat new to underwater video and I hope someone can offer me some advice on what i should buy. I have $1000-1500 budget to spend on a dedicated underwater video camera. I don't have a need to do any stills so a focus on video is fine.

I currently use a GoPro HD for my underwater films and i've outgrown the limited video quality. Even though it's 1080p 60fps the quality just isnt there and everytime i go down i feel like im missing out on really capturing the moment.

I need the camera, a housing and lights...

I know $1500 bucks isnt much for this sort of thing.

What would you guys recommend?

Thanks....

Seth Diggs
West Palm Beach, FL

#2 Steve Karm

Steve Karm

Sea Wasp

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 May 2011 - 08:07 AM

Seth,

Send me a pm as I may have a solution for you. I too am in West Palm.

Steve

#3 garyyoss

garyyoss

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 110 posts

Posted 18 May 2011 - 12:26 PM

I too live in West Palm, perhaps we could all get together sometime to talk shop and dive?
Gary
Nikon D800, Sea and Sea MDX-D800, Nikon D300, Sea and Sea MDX-D300, Inon Z-240's, Nikkor 16-35mm, Tokina 10-17mm, Nikkor 60mm, Nikkor 12-24mm, ULCS Hardware

#4 resappraiser

resappraiser

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 18 May 2011 - 02:51 PM

Hey guys,

I'm somewhat new to underwater video and I hope someone can offer me some advice on what i should buy. I have $1000-1500 budget to spend on a dedicated underwater video camera. I don't have a need to do any stills so a focus on video is fine.

I currently use a GoPro HD for my underwater films and i've outgrown the limited video quality. Even though it's 1080p 60fps the quality just isnt there and everytime i go down i feel like im missing out on really capturing the moment.

I need the camera, a housing and lights...

I know $1500 bucks isnt much for this sort of thing.