11 replies to this topic

#1 Scubysnaps

Scubysnaps

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1076 posts
  • Interests:Diving, photography, Aprilia RSVR, VW Vans! www.scubysnaps.com

Posted 31 May 2011 - 06:33 AM

I recently bought a "Triggerfish" off Hedwig on here, I got it working fine on a dry run at home, but once I took it on a trip when connecting it to my sync cord it never connected with the pins and bent the 3 copper pins, I spoke with Hedwig, he said strighten them and try again, I did this and then the pins snapped off. I have been using sync cords for over 3 years now and never had problems connecting them together on my housings, the design is fool proof. Hedwig now has this faulty part and says it was down to user error, and refuses to replace it and only offered me 10% off a replacement, I of course disagree. The resin in my opinion is too soft and will not withstand pressure due to any mislaignment, that is why I believe the part allowed my pins to be crushed as the resin notch shows sign of wear.

Anyone else had this problem? I'd of course warn anyone against buying one of these parts
Cheers
Paul

*Nikon D90 with Tokina 10-17 & Nikon 60mm, 105mm, Sigma 17-70, Kenko1.4 * 2 x Z240 & 2 x 12 litres...global! *

www.scubysnaps.com >)))>

#2 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

The Doctor

• Super Mod
  • 8376 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 07:47 AM

Not had this problem. I took two to the Red Sea And lent the round to several people to use, without any issues. We also had at least one more on board (plus several other remote trigger devices, including my design built by Peter Ladell) and these did not have any problems.

They were mainly used on Sea & Sea cables.

Alex

Alexander Mustard - www.amustard.com - www.magic-filters.com
Nikon D4 (Subal housing). Nikon D7100 (Subal housing). Olympus EPL-5 (Nauticam housing).

#3 Scubysnaps

Scubysnaps

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1076 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 03:06 PM