4 replies to this topic

#1 Oceanshutter

Oceanshutter

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 357 posts

Posted 10 June 2011 - 09:47 AM

Hello all:

First of all I have decided I finally needed to get my own login to wetpixel. I was previously posting under my wifes account tyanea.

We went to Anilao in March and wanted to show you my first video I have put together. As Anilao is primarily a macro destination, and the fact that I only had wide angle lenses available, it made it a little challenging for a beginner. But I think I came out with some decent footage. I used a Canon 5d mark ii, with mostly a 15mm fisheye, with a little bit of footage with the 17-40mm. I also used the magic filters in about half of the footage as well.

If you have time, have a look. Being a beginner, I am open to suggestions of how to get better. (shorter clips, better white balance, holding still....etc) Please feel free to share your thoughts.

[vimeohd]24906633[/vimeohd]

Here is the link in case the embedded code doesn't work
Anilao HD video

Dustin

Website - www.OceanShutter.com

My Video's on Vimeo

My Video's on Youtube

#2 wagsy

wagsy

Blue Whale

• Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 10 June 2011 - 03:52 PM

Well done for the first time.
I would concentrate first on keeping the shots steady then mess around with the other stuff.
Colour correction, exposure can easily be fixed up on the computer to a certain point but a wonky video cannot without loosing quality.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#3 WaterWorks

WaterWorks

Sting Ray

• Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts

Posted 10 June 2011 - 07:19 PM

great base skills to start from there...

I mirror Wagsy's words about stability (it's generally one of the most important characteristics of u/w videos than can either make, or break a shot)