12 replies to this topic

#1 Mclovin

Mclovin

Damselfish

• Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 12 June 2011 - 08:40 AM

G'day fellow divers!

Would like to hear people thoughts on housing a 7D?

I have been filming for a few years underwater with my ol mini DV Sony and trusty Ikelite housing. It did, and still does the job. But I am not sure whether I should go for one with my 7D or whether the more expensive housings really are worth the extra dollars? Any advice on a decent strobe set up would be greatly appreciated also...

Thanks in advance...=)

#2 meltdownman

meltdownman

Lionfish

• PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 12 June 2011 - 10:20 AM

I guess it depends on how much you want to spend for your strobes and housing. I have seen the Ikelite but it appears bulky with Ikelite strobes hooked in place. Their strobes are great and have great power from what I witnessed during my dives in Truk. I did get feedback from someone on another forum that he was switching up to an Aquatica housing due to leaks in his 2 different Ikelite housings through the buttons. Even after being sent back for refurb. I have a 5D Mark II and wanted to ensure that it never goes through that issue. So, Hugyfot has a lot of raves from its ability to draw a vacuum to ensure of a good seal on the o-rings but now there is a company that will refurb the Aquatica with a vacuum fitting and pump like the Hugyfot. It costs additional money but worth it if you want to protect your baby. It uses an existing port for the fitting. People say you are opening up another hole in your housing but I disagree since you can test your housing with the vacuum. Better safe than sorry. This site has a review of the Aquatica and other housings if you do a search.

Here is a good site for strobe comparison:

http://www.digitaldi...net/strobes.php

Here is a good site for the vacuum fitting installed for various housings for the 7D from Sentry:

http://www.uwcameras...ry_installs.htm

Zillion and Seacam Housing Reviews: