11 replies to this topic

#1 gtp1013

gtp1013

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Interests:Running, lifting, design, ergonomics, usability, diving, sharks

Posted 12 June 2011 - 11:22 AM

One of my white shark images from Guadalupe showed up much to my surprise on the nationally televised CBS Early Show. The image was not one of my better ones, and I think it's actually a screen-cap from some video I shot at Guadalupe years ago. I had used the image on my blog sometime last year, and TinEye doesn't reveal any other instances of the image elsewhere on the web, so I'm guessing somebody just pulled it from my blog. The image is the white shark image shown over the anchor's shoulder in the right-corner when the story initially starts.

http://www.cbsnews.c...ch/?id=7215678n

I'm not a pro-shooter, so it's not like I'm losing out on anything by CBS using my image, but I was a bit surprised to see it there, considering the resources that a major tv network should have. I would have been happy to provide CBS with some much better white shark images for free (with a photo credit), if only somebody had asked.

Edited by gtp1013, 12 June 2011 - 01:36 PM.

#2 AllisonFinch

AllisonFinch

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Interests:Caves, photos and long distance travel to dive.

Posted 16 June 2011 - 09:28 PM

There may be another use of your photo.

Did you enter it in a contest on Photobucket? If not, someone has entered it as their photo (judging from their photostream, it is not theirs). It can be found in this contest;

http://photobucket.com/contests It is on page two int the Best Sea Creatures contest.

Scroll around and you will find it. I hope you didn't enter it as I called it out. Ooops?

Edited by AllisonFinch, 16 June 2011 - 09:29 PM.

#3 twinner

twinner

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 112 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 03:55 PM