• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Will_Clark

Will_Clark

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 88 posts

Posted 16 August 2011 - 03:27 AM

I'm new to using Inon 240s. When I change the batteries and come to screw the cover back down, the o-rings always seem to want to pop out a bit in a curl. I've already changed 2 in 3 weeks for fear they are getting stretched... does this happen with yours? Any hints?

#2 owfotograaf

owfotograaf

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 158 posts

Posted 16 August 2011 - 04:21 AM

Be sure to use the right kind of grease, no silicone grease for silicone o-rings!!! They become soft otherwise.
I replaced them by normal black rubber NBR 70 o-rings with the same measurements and have no problems any more.
Silicone o-rings normally are not used for dynamic applications.

#3 ChrigelKarrer

ChrigelKarrer

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts

Posted 16 August 2011 - 05:38 AM

I use one INON D2000 from 2007 and 2 brand new Z240 strobes and never had this problem.
You may should grease the o-ring SLIGHTLY with the included INON o-ring grease.
You will feel the need of grease when turning the cap get hard, with some grease screwing the cap down
should be a smooth operation with slight torque.

Chris

Edited by ChrigelKarrer, 16 August 2011 - 06:42 AM.

Nikon D800 - Sigma 15mm - Nikon 105mm Micro VR - Hugyfot Housing - 3 Inon Z-240 strobes - 2x2 8'' ULCS arms

Canon G12 with Patima aluminium housing - Fuji E900 with Ikelite housing
Visit My Costa Rica Website - Visit My Italy Website

#4 Kilili

Kilili

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 110 posts

Posted 16 August 2011 - 01:26 PM

I'm new to using Inon 240s. When I change the batteries and come to screw the cover back down, the o-rings always seem to want to pop out a bit in a curl. I've already changed 2 in 3 weeks for fear they are getting stretched... does this happen with yours? Any hints?

I had same problem, was traced back to not using INON o-ring grease.