Photo

How much editing with Lightroom is acceptable?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 johnjvv

johnjvv

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 254 posts

Posted 09 September 2011 - 09:52 PM

Hello,

I am fairly new to using RAW and Lightroom and have seen that you can make fairly drastic improvements to images. I would appreciate anyone's comments on wether the changes I have made to this image is deemed acceptable or is it going overboard?

I personally feel the edited image looks much nicer however I dont want my images to come across as fake.

Thanks,
John

Attached Images

• lightroom_change.JPG
  • original.JPG

#2 sdingeldein

sdingeldein

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 147 posts

Posted 10 September 2011 - 03:26 AM

My view is that whatever pleases you is fine, as long as you are not misrepresenting your work, say cutting and pasting critters together to "show" a unique underwater event for some contest or publication.

Your eye constantly edits what it sees and there is no reason that you can't adjust in Lightroom to your heart's content until a picture looks like you remember it or how you want it to look.

Your edited image doesn't look fake to me.
Born to dive, forced to work

#3 nachogil

nachogil

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 10 September 2011 - 03:40 AM

In my point of view with Lightroom I do basically the same things that I did in the past when I developed in the laboratory (B/W and color) modify the exposition, contrast, tone, remove some dots or scratches, ok in the extreme use of Lightroom you can add a gradient filter...

I think that the Ligtroom's concept is very close to the traditional photography work, other discussion is the use of Photoshop a solution more focused in the retouch, or the use of some Lithroom especific plugins.

I think that your picture example is perfectly acceptable.

Edited by nachogil, 10 September 2011 - 03:41 AM.

#4 tdpriest

tdpriest

Sperm Whale

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2121 posts