14 replies to this topic

#1 ragebot

ragebot

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 October 2011 - 10:28 AM

Posted Image Hi All,

My name is Tom and I am a recovering underwater photographer. I have recently switched to digital and am trying to improve my splits (over under) images. I captured this image recently and am hoping for tips on how to improve it. I used a Nauticam 7d housing with a Zen dome port and a Tokina 10-17. I am considering getting a Nauticam viewfinder, and have seen some claims that the 45 degree viewfinder is better than the 180 for splits, but am not sure about this.

The image was captured at Wakulla Springs State Park. I have had good luck there as the water is very clear and manatees will sometimes initiate contact with divers coming very close (like as in 2 feet close). Any hints on how to improve image quality of splits is welcome.

Attached Images

• IMG_2211.jpg

#2 Autopsea

Autopsea

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 269 posts

Posted 07 October 2011 - 11:05 AM

Go to F/14+, the surface will then be a lot more in focus and so less blurry :D

#3 Panda

Panda

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Interests:Split levels, timelapse, temperate critters.

Posted 07 October 2011 - 12:43 PM

f/16, zoom wide (10mm), large dome, spit on dome and rub it around.
Dip under, lock focus then shoot a few shots while lifting the camera up.

Shoot RAW and set exposure so that above water highlights like clouds don't blow out.
Darken the above and lighten the below in Photoshop.

Edited by Panda, 07 October 2011 - 12:45 PM.

anewton.net - UW blog - KAP blog
Victoria Australia. Nikon D7000, Lumix LX3. Ikelite. Inon. GoPro 2

#4 ragebot

ragebot

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 October 2011 - 02:18 PM