• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 tc_rain

tc_rain

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 17 November 2011 - 07:14 PM

I am trying to understand the difference and the advantages / disadvantages of using an electrical sync cord over a fiber optic cable on a point and shoot camera. The camera housing is an Olympus PT-030. It has an Inon bayonet mount where the fiber optic cable just pushes through a bushing in front of the onboard camera flash or I could get a Heinrichs Weikamp replacement bulkhead . I will be attaching a S&S YS-110a. If I use the sync cord and the Heinrichs Weikamp replacement bulkhead will I get somewhat of an auto exposure with it for macro shots? With the fiber optic cable will my only option be to manually adjust the power settings to control the flash intensity? Sorry, I am really new at this and the articles I read just confused me further I think.

#2 rtrski

rtrski

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Interests:Slowly learning digital photography and underwater digital photography. Like drinking from a salt-water firehose... ;-)

Posted 18 November 2011 - 01:38 PM

With the H-K you should (I believe) pick up "TTL" capability thru the electrical sync. However...for macro, TTL often doesn't help.

TTL works by giving the strobe a 'quench' signal to truncate the flash before it's been on for it's full duration, but once it thinks the light thru the lens is enough to properly expose the selected region (spot, etc). And at macro distances, the subject is so close, the quench can't happen fast enough.