Photo
- - - - -

New DSLR/strobe test; settings for pool portraits?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 GeorgeH

GeorgeH

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 25 posts

Posted 22 November 2011 - 08:09 PM

I want to test a new camera housing with dual strobes out in a pool next week and while I am an experienced photographer, I will literally be taking the equipment out of their boxes for the first time. The only gear I have any familiarity with is the D3S and lenses.

As a new diver I am not ready to take my camera in open water yet but should have no trouble kneeling on the bottom of a pool next week to help shoot underwater Santa pictures. I'll definitely try some shots while attempting to stay horizontal a few feet off the bottom.

If I can figure out the housing controls, trying different settings and strobe positions shouldn't be a problem but I would like some settings to start with.

For a D3S in an Aquatica housing my thought was to use a 14 -24 with a 9 " glass dome. Corner sharpness is not a concern and in fact soft corners could be a benefit. I also have a macro port, 60 and 105 macro lenses, a 15mm FE sigma and a 24 70.

I have two Ikelite DS-161 strobes connected with 2 x 2 ea. 8" ultralight strobe arms. We have the pool at night and lighting is poor so I don't think ambient light will work very well but I will test a few shots. Using high ISO with the D3S is not a concern. I need to study up on the strobe settings but I assume I can set the main light at around half power and the fill light a stop or two lower? I might learn water diffuses the light so fast that different power settings won't give me the subtle shading I look for when shooting portraits.