• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Randy Seuss

Randy Seuss

Sea Wasp

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 December 2011 - 06:27 AM

Hey guys i'm new to surf photography, but not surfing or photography respectively.
I've been shooting for years now,and recently got a hero gopro and its made me decide to take the plunge in getting a housing for my DSLR.

I Really like the Liquid eye housings,... my question is what Mode do most of you guys shoot in ? TV (shutter priority ) Full Manual ??

seems it would be a pain to swim in to change shutter speed for constantly changing light situations.
is it possible to get prime photo's in TV modes or is full Manual the only way to go ?

the reason i ask is the housing i'm interested in (c1600 ) just has AF and trigger features...
SPL makes a fully adjustable housing for my camera but is quite a bit more.

Thanks in advance to any responses.
looking to buy a housing very soon.

#2 CamDiver

CamDiver

Great White

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1103 posts
  • Interests:Filming and documentary production. Beach and surf photography. Family time, isolated beaches and walking the dog.

Posted 12 December 2011 - 04:44 PM

Break out the manual. You say you're no stranger to photography so why ask others if you know what you're doing? I did put some guidelines up there but thought better of it and removed them.

Asking photographers what settings they use is like asking a rival restaurant to cook your menu for you.

Gotta go through the learning process too mate, best of luck with it.

Cheers,
mark.

Edited by CamDiver, 13 December 2011 - 04:43 PM.

The Sharks of the Forgotten Islands

- A Natural History Documentary -

#3 eskrod

eskrod

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 23 December 2011 - 06:05 PM

I shoot in manual. I own a SPL housing for a 1d mark iii which allows control over shutter speed and aperature. I recommend getting a housing with this feature. cheers!