Dear PADI

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Fontaine

Fontaine

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Interests:surfing, diving, and surprise photography!

Posted 13 December 2011 - 06:45 PM

This is something I wrote a few years ago about my diving experiences in Guam, basically its a critique of Guam diving culture and PADIs sponsorship of it....

Dear PADI,

Having traveled the world working as a PADI instructor I have fallen in love with diving and the underwater world.á Starting my journey in Roatan, Bay Islands of Honduras I was eighteen years old and did not have the slightest idea of what diving was all about except for the fact that I knew I would love it.á I spent sixteen months in Roatan accumulating masses of dives, working for various shops, encountering all types of underwater creatures from Blennys to Whale Sharks and progressed to become a PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor (OWSI).á I grew up at the beach surfing and have always had an immense amount of respect and love for the outdoors and a special passion for our aquatic realms.á I have great respect for the level of instructing, safety and environmentally friendly diving practices that most of the dive shops advocate and abide by in Roatan.á These rules are simple and make a lot of sense and on paper concur with what PADI stands for, to name a few general rules; "leave only bubbles, take only pictures", "do not touch anything",á and "no feeding the fish".