• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 hiapnea

hiapnea

Starfish

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 December 2011 - 07:24 AM

I'm looking to get some advice choosing a gel filter to WB my Gopro Hero2 HD camera for video. I'm freediving in the 30-80ft range in Hawaii (clear blue water) and wanted to put a Lee gel filter in front of the lens to lessen the blue cast. I'm a photographer on land so i have a bunch of Lee gels for my flashes as well as a Lee sampler kit that has 100's of 2x3 filters in it. I'm sure i can find one in there, but which one? I was thinking somewhere around a CTO instead of a straight Red but i'm not sure. I even read of "Bastard Pink" in one of my searches here. Problem with the Gopro is no manual WB so I need one that would work best for all-around depths. I know i can't get close to an all-around at 30-80ft ranges underwater, but whatever works best. Anything would be better than nothing as footage is super blue w/o any filters on it. I was also concerned about the Red cutting too much light for the Gopro's sensor. Any advice on this? Thanks guys.

#2 Nick Hope

Nick Hope

Sperm Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1990 posts

Posted 16 December 2011 - 08:03 AM

You could take a look at Magic Filters. They are more expensive than just using regular lighting gel but the colours are optimised for underwater use, and the gel is "optical quality". Not sure exactly what that means though (Alex???). You'll find loads about them in the Wetpixel forums.

#3 hiapnea

hiapnea

Starfish

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 December 2011 - 09:55 AM

You could take a look at Magic Filters. They are more expensive than just using regular lighting gel but the colours are optimised for underwater use, and the gel is "optical quality". Not sure exactly what that means though (Alex???). You'll find loads about them in the Wetpixel forums.