• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 madtom

madtom

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 February 2012 - 06:13 AM

I often film in very clear and shallow water (1 foot) with lots of light reflecting off the bottom and off fish. When I do I always get terrible results, everything comes out soft, a touch blurry and a bit washed out. My other footage looks fine, just the really shallow water shots are terrible.

I'm using a Sony cx550 with everything set on "auto", but have access to some manual functions. The cx550 takes awesome video, but the shallow water shots look about the same as my old vivitar u/w flip camera footage.

I'm a beginner and wonder if camera settings can help reduce the problem? Has anyone else had similar problems or know a solution? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

#2 Steve Douglas

Steve Douglas

Humpback Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2840 posts
  • Interests:filming/editing/exotic travel. l write reviews of editing software, books, tutorials and Mac based NLE related products for the www.kenstone.net and www.lafcpug.org sites as well as articles for Asian Diver Magazine and wetpixel. I am one of the founding members of the San Diego UnderSea Film Festival

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:05 AM