Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

nikon 20-35 mmAF-D 1:2.8 what diopter


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 sharky1961

sharky1961

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 04 February 2004 - 11:15 PM

Hi, I have a Nikon F4s in an Aquatica housing with a nikon 20-35mm AF-D 1:2.8 who knows wich diopter I need for this lens in the aquatica housing?


Rob

#2 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Location:UK */Seychelles/Singapore
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 05 February 2004 - 02:22 AM

Port details?

#3 sharky1961

sharky1961

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 05 February 2004 - 01:47 PM

Hi cybergoldfish,
here are the portdetails. domeport 18400, portextension 18441.
Rob

Nikon D800 in Seacam D800,  Nikon 16mm, 16-35mm, , 60mm, 105mm,1.4 and 2x TC, 2x Sea&Sea 110a, 2x Seacam Seaflash 150


#4 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Location:UK */Seychelles/Singapore
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 05 February 2004 - 03:10 PM

Rob,

Check the Aquatica website. It suggests the correct dioptres on the spreadsheet.

#5 sharky1961

sharky1961

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 06 February 2004 - 05:50 AM

Hi cybergoldfish, I already chequed the aquatica website, there is no diopter listed for this lens/housing combination. There is a diopter listed for the aquatica F5 housing niko 20-35 lens combination. I already mailed Blake for 3 days about this subject but until yet no answer.

Nikon D800 in Seacam D800,  Nikon 16mm, 16-35mm, , 60mm, 105mm,1.4 and 2x TC, 2x Sea&Sea 110a, 2x Seacam Seaflash 150


#6 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Location:UK */Seychelles/Singapore
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 06 February 2004 - 05:56 AM

It should be the same lens/dioptre/port combination. Camera is irrelevent.

#7 sharky1961

sharky1961

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 06 February 2004 - 06:45 AM

Hi cybergoldfish,
No the f5 has other domeport(18405) and extensionring(18453) then the F4 domeport(18400) and extensionring (18441) so that is my problem.

Nikon D800 in Seacam D800,  Nikon 16mm, 16-35mm, , 60mm, 105mm,1.4 and 2x TC, 2x Sea&Sea 110a, 2x Seacam Seaflash 150


#8 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Location:UK */Seychelles/Singapore
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 06 February 2004 - 06:49 AM

Is the F4 screw mounted ports then? The F5 is bayonet.
I'd have thought dimensionally they would be identical, it's the same lens afterall!

#9 sharky1961

sharky1961

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 06 February 2004 - 09:19 AM

Hi, the F4has screw mounted ports

Nikon D800 in Seacam D800,  Nikon 16mm, 16-35mm, , 60mm, 105mm,1.4 and 2x TC, 2x Sea&Sea 110a, 2x Seacam Seaflash 150


#10 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Location:UK */Seychelles/Singapore
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 06 February 2004 - 09:26 AM

Then that's the only difference... The dioptres will be identical! The part numbers are different only because of screw/bayonet mounting.

#11 davephdv

davephdv

    Doc Eyeballs

  • Senior Moderator
  • 2290 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Goleta CA

Posted 06 February 2004 - 04:08 PM

Best guess would be +4. You often don't need one if you are not worried about close focus.
Dave Burroughs, Nikon D300, D2X, Subal housing, DS160 strobes

Life is a beach and then you dive.

My Website


#12 sharky1961

sharky1961

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 07 February 2004 - 08:54 AM

the aqutica housing for the F5 usus a +3 diopter. what will happen if I use the wrong diopter and why do I need a diopter at all?
Rob

Nikon D800 in Seacam D800,  Nikon 16mm, 16-35mm, , 60mm, 105mm,1.4 and 2x TC, 2x Sea&Sea 110a, 2x Seacam Seaflash 150


#13 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Location:UK */Seychelles/Singapore
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 07 February 2004 - 10:59 AM

It's down to the effect the port has on your lenses minimum focus ability. The diopter corrects this.
Yes, you will need it if you intend doing close-up work with good saturation.

#14 echeng

echeng

    The Blue

  • Admin
  • 5842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Interests:photography, ice cream, cello, chamber music, quadcopters

Posted 07 February 2004 - 11:03 AM

Rob: remember that a diopter will also limit how far you can focus your camera. If infinity focus on the dome's virtual image is closer than the maximum focus distance, you're still fine in all situations underwater (but now, you can focus closer to the dome).
eric cheng
publisher/editor, wetpixel
www | journal | photos


#15 ascottj

ascottj

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tennessee

Posted 10 February 2004 - 07:18 AM

Hello Rob,

I also use F4's in Aquatica housings. Norma & Blake have been swamped. I can assure you that they are not purposely ignoring your questions. As Bob suggested, use the +3 diopter.

I wish you the best. Feel free to contact me personally if you can not reach Blake regarding a housing issue. If I am not on assignment, I will try to help.

God Bless,

Scott
[list]
[*]Aquatica Housings, Nikon D300 and D7000 Bodies
[*]Sea&Sea Strobes & TTL Converter, TLC & ULC Arms
[*]Scott Johnson
[*]SeaScapes Images
[list]