9 replies to this topic

#1 betti154

betti154

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 342 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 02:11 AM

Hi,

Here's a little video about cave diving and why we do it. I tried to showcase the good and bad to answer the question of why we do it. Cave footage shot in Florida with 7D, Aquatica and DIY LED video lights.

I'm relatively new to video so feedback is welcome.

[vimeohd]34730010[/vimeohd]
Damien Siviero
Canon 5DmkIII + 7D. Aquatica Housing. Ikelite + Inon Strobes. Canon + Tokina Glass.
http://damiensiviero.com

#2 gsk3

gsk3

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 04:38 AM

Nice footage. Hard to get past all the macho nonsense that people are saying, though.

#3 decostanza

decostanza

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 08:05 AM

Very nice and well shot!

#4 Steve Douglas

Steve Douglas

Humpback Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2840 posts
  • Interests:filming/editing/exotic travel. l write reviews of editing software, books, tutorials and Mac based NLE related products for the www.kenstone.net and www.lafcpug.org sites as well as articles for Asian Diver Magazine and wetpixel. I am one of the founding members of the San Diego UnderSea Film Festival

Posted 21 February 2012 - 01:19 PM

I liked it. I didn't find the psychological rational behind the cave diver's mentality to be macho spouting at all. There is a whole nother mentality beyond the normal sport diving that a good cave diver must have and self understanding is part of that. Thought their explanations were spot on. I've often said that I wished there were cave diving opportunities in the San Diego area, I would have been certified decades ago, but alas.
Steve
www.kenstone.net
www.lafcpug.org

Steve Douglas
www.worldfilmsandtravel.com