#1 BC-SeaDragon

BC-SeaDragon

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Interests:DIVING!

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:56 AM

Hello,

I am interested in taking the next step and getting into some voice over short videos as I am getting bored of the same old music vids. I have never attempted this before and just looking to get a running start from you all.

Any info regarding mics and software would be much appreciated. The other thing I was curious of was the easiest way to go about workflow... Have a rough edit script to base editing on. Editing then creating script. Rough plot and script before shooting and editing etc.

A little hesitant about how my voice will sound but willing to at least give it a try!

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Kelly

#2 ronscuba

ronscuba

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 365 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:25 AM

I am just a amateur hobbyist, so I am in a similar situation as you.

I hate the sound of my voice but find a little narration and voice over does make my videos better. The bigger problem for me is writing good dialog. Interviews talking about the dives makes the dialog problem easier.

I have been using a portable audio recorder. A lav mic for interviews helps keep background noise to a minimum. This might sound funny, but for reading script, under a blanket when recording has worked better than sitting in an open room.

#3 Steve Douglas

Steve Douglas

Humpback Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2842 posts
  • Interests:filming/editing/exotic travel. l write reviews of editing software, books, tutorials and Mac based NLE related products for the www.kenstone.net and www.lafcpug.org sites as well as articles for Asian Diver Magazine and wetpixel. I am one of the founding members of the San Diego UnderSea Film Festival

Posted 24 February 2012 - 02:29 PM