6 replies to this topic

#1 Photogenic shark

Photogenic shark

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 01:33 PM

Hey everyone,

Need a little advice. I'm an amateur underwater photograher. I've got a Nikon D70 with a 10-50mm lens in a Sea & Sea housing with a Sea & Sea YS 90 strobe. Can someone help me on suggested basic settings to start with? In the past, I have maually set the apeture at 8 and put the shutter speed on auto. I typically leave the "slave" on the flash off. I'm heading to Fiji in a few weeks and want to make sure I get some GREAT pics!

Any advice would be greatly appeciated!

#2 johnjvv

johnjvv

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 254 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 04:47 PM

Hi!!

I would recommend that you rather not select the Auto Shutter speed as it is darker under water and your camera will select slower shutter speeds leaving your photos blurry as it would freeze the action...rather let it automatically select the aperture and keep the shutter speed around 1/125.

Otherwise, on manual settings, Start off with ISO 200, 1/125, f11, make sure you light the subject well with your strobe and adjust your strobe strength as required.

Experiment with different shutter speeds and apertures, the f-stop to adjust depth of field and the shutter speed will change the colour of the water from light blue to black.

I am sure what I am saying is very debatable but I think you should be alright with those settings

There is obviously more to it and I would recommend you get Martin Edge's book and read about it as well....

Hope you have a good trip!

#3 ATJ

ATJ

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 638 posts
  • Interests:Diving, Photograph, Marine Biology

Posted 28 February 2012 - 07:52 PM

I agree with John's starting settings of ISO 200, 1/125s and f/11. With the D70 you don't really want to go higher than ISO 200 as the noise will get too noticeable.