26 replies to this topic

#1 esetterf

esetterf

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Interests:Underwater photography<br />Scuba diving<br />Mountain biking

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:26 AM

After taking an underwater photography course recently I have decided to take the plunge and purchase a dSLR setup. I already own a Canon 20D with the 100mm macro lens and 10-22mm lens, but would like to upgrade before purchasing a housing.

I have been looking at the Canon 60D and 7D, but after some deliberation still can't make up my mind. There isn't much between the two regarding the cost, but the 60D is 12 months newer and has some of the 7D technology. Both cameras support the EF-S lenses so will be suitable for the 10-22mm that I already own.

Is anybody able to offer any advice on which one would be best.

I am new to WetPixel so looking forward to hearing from you.

#2 ckchong

ckchong

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 206 posts

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:42 AM

get 7D....there have some 2nd hand housing on sale too :dance:

#3 Drew

Drew

The Controller

• Video Expert
  • 10638 posts

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:56 AM

I've been testing the 60D with the Seacam housing for the last month. I think you first have to find out what housings are available for the 60D. I think the noise performance is about equal till about ISO640, then the 7D beats it by a 1/3 stop or so. The other "issue" is the autofocus. The 60D autofocus is competent and only when the subject is dark in low contrast situations does the 7D perform better. This is of course in situations like baitballs and the like where action is fast and the predators are generally lower contrast and most of the time the light is less than 1-2 hours after sunrise. In normal reef scenes, it's a very competent system.
I like the 60D for its video mode, which is separate from the stills modes. I won't go into more detail since I need to write the review in a month or so.