• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Wossa

Wossa

Damselfish

• Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 03:02 AM

I would class myself as a complete novice photographer, more at the point and shoot end of the scale rather than knowing about F stops and ISO settings etc. I brought a Canon G1 X for a diving trip last week and then after reading al the negative reviews, wondered if I had wasted my time and money. I had searched the internet for underwater images taken with the G1 X and there are very few available.

I have to be honest, I struggled with the camera, mainly around the time it takes to focus and lock onto the subject. I found that even once it has come into focus, the slightest movement from either myself or the subject would make the camera lose focus quickly and would take a blurred picture. Maybe it was me and could of been rectified if I had a better knowledge of the camera and how the various settings works, ( I will take the time to learn).

I normally use a Canon S90 with Inon wet lenses which is very forgiving and easy to use, but when the GI X focused, the clarity of the pictures where pretty impressive and was visibily better than anything the S90 could manage. Like I say, I am a total amateur but here are just a few images that I took last week, I will post a link to the full images when I have downloaded. I hope at some stage wide angle lenses will be available for the G1 X as I am sure this would make this camera more versitile for underwater photography.

I would appreciate your thoughts......

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 garyyoss

garyyoss

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 110 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 03:55 AM