• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 jwood1

jwood1

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 April 2012 - 08:21 AM

I have been an amateur above-water photographer all my life, and finally took the plunge, so to speak, on a sailing trip to the BVIs. I had a Canon S90 and bought an Ikelite housing for it. I decided to go simple at first and shot available light while free-diving. Here are my two favorites: an octopus was nice enough to pose for me.

Posted Image
BVI sailing 2011_1343_octopus1 by blues_sailor53, on Flickr

Posted Image
BVI sailing 2011_1344_octopus2 by blues_sailor53, on Flickr

Canon Powershot S90, Ikelite housing, 28mm, no wet lens. Image shot while free diving in the BVIs, 15 ft depth, available light, 1/160, F4.0, ISO 200. Shot in RAW, post processed in ACR.

#2 DiverPam

DiverPam

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 383 posts

Posted 28 April 2012 - 12:39 PM

Welcome to the world of underwater photography. As you can tell, it can drian the purse quickly - but of SO worth it. Nice job wiith you first shots. I really like the second one. Looking forward to seeing more of your shots in the future.

Happy diving - DiverPam

Nikon D90 in Aquatica Housing, Tokina 10-17mm, 60mm macro, 105mm macro, Sigma 17-70mm, + Ikelite DS 161 and DS-125 strobe combo  www.flickr.com/photos/pammurph/

The Fin Foundation

#3 Steve Douglas

Steve Douglas

Humpback Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2842 posts
  • Interests:filming/editing/exotic travel. l write reviews of editing software, books, tutorials and Mac based NLE related products for the www.kenstone.net and www.lafcpug.org sites as well as articles for Asian Diver Magazine and wetpixel. I am one of the founding members of the San Diego UnderSea Film Festival

Posted 02 May 2012 - 02:16 PM

Beautiful color, solid focus. Congrats. Your positioning works for these photos. Remember that it is often best to get slightly below your subject, thus, slightly shooting upward.
Steve

www.kenstone.net