Photo

Got the camera and housing, what else do I need to think about.....

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Longimanus1975

Longimanus1975

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 161 posts

Posted 01 May 2012 - 01:59 PM

After some advice from this forum and information from various other places I have got myself my setup, Nikon d7000, nauticam housing.
I have been using a point and shoot for the past 5 years and have learnt many things from pre dive planning to photographing specific subjects.
I am not trying to get any specific info from the photo taking side of things but more to do with things like the maintenance, planning side of things, so here go's, not in any particular order
How often do you clean your o rings? After every dive or every days diving?What tools do you travel with?Do you always have your housing passed to you or do you jump in with it? I always jumped in with my old housing and never had any problems.Do I need any desiccant in my housing?Can I travel with my camera in the housing?Do you have a specific setting for your camera when getting in the water, just in case something is there straight away?
Any other tips would also be much appreciated, I just don't want to mess anything up when I do my first dives.

#2 ChrigelKarrer

ChrigelKarrer

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:28 PM

Longimanus,
congratulations for your D7000 rig, a excellent choice!
The answers below reflect MY way of doing it because my experience and knowledge let me think that they are right,
other people will have other meanings about.

How often do you clean your o rings?

every time i close the housing i pass with my clean finger over it to feel/eliminate eventual sand/salt grains, hairs/lint, etc.
regreasing and cleaning when they are dirty on flat compression o-ring (Housing), regreasing and cleaning on twisted o-ring (battery tray of torches or strobes) approx every 5th use or when they are dry.