Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Olympus OM-D E-M5


  • Please log in to reply
778 replies to this topic

#721 MikeO

MikeO

    Great White

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1025 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA, USA

Posted 05 January 2014 - 09:37 AM

And another question.  My current Seatool 40D housing has the INON 45-degree viewfinder on it.  Is that compatible with the Nauticam Olympus housings?


Mike Oelrich
Canon EOS 40D in Seatool housing, 100mm macro, Tokina 10-17, INON Z-240s.


#722 Phil Rudin

Phil Rudin

    Great White

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA

Posted 05 January 2014 - 11:10 AM

Nauticam makes an adapter for Nauticam viewfinder to SeaTool housing but not the other way around. Second the Nauticam OM-D housings ship with an optical pickup finder. To add the 45 or 180 finders you need to exchange the rear LED window for the custom window that accommodates the accessory finder, that part is $240.00 US. No port adapters for SeaTool ports either and if they had one it would be for the DSLR size port opening not the Mirrorless Mini port openings.



#723 coroander

coroander

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 January 2014 - 12:38 PM

Phil, i thought Reef was able to convert the INON 45-degree viewfinder for use with Nauticam housings, $200 for conversion + $240 for the proper window?



#724 MikeO

MikeO

    Great White

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1025 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA, USA

Posted 05 January 2014 - 12:55 PM

Thanks.  Just trying to assess my options.  Will all depend on how much my Seatool housing might be worth to someone else.

 

Mike


Mike Oelrich
Canon EOS 40D in Seatool housing, 100mm macro, Tokina 10-17, INON Z-240s.


#725 caroline.power

caroline.power

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:12 PM

I need some technical help. I recently received my em5 and have  been playing around  with it. So I was very disappointed when I downloaded the photos onto my computer and found that all were only 5.5 inches wide. I was using the L F (large, fine) setting and the pixel width is around 4000. But each and every photo is only 5 ish inches. How do I change the setting so the photos are larger besides the LF setting? Is this a computer glitch, SD card malfunction, or a camera error? 



#726 MikeO

MikeO

    Great White

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1025 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA, USA

Posted 14 January 2014 - 06:11 AM

I need some technical help. I recently received my em5 and have  been playing around  with it. So I was very disappointed when I downloaded the photos onto my computer and found that all were only 5.5 inches wide. I was using the L F (large, fine) setting and the pixel width is around 4000. But each and every photo is only 5 ish inches. How do I change the setting so the photos are larger besides the LF setting? Is this a computer glitch, SD card malfunction, or a camera error? 

 

It is likely that there is nothing wrong.  The number of pixels will tell you the amount of information the camera captured.  Large, fine should give you 4608x3465 pixels.  "Picture size" in inches is more likely derived from whatever image editing software you are using and really only matters if you are trying to print the image.  You should be able to tell the software how many pixels you want per inch to adjust the actual printed image size.  There should be a way, in the software, of adjusting the image size based on inches or a setting to change "pixels per inch".  How are you downloading to your computer?  What image editing software are you using?


Mike Oelrich
Canon EOS 40D in Seatool housing, 100mm macro, Tokina 10-17, INON Z-240s.


#727 caroline.power

caroline.power

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 14 January 2014 - 06:32 AM

I am using Photoshop to open and process the photos. I tried adjusting the size my increasing the inches but the image quality doesn't appear to be super fantastic either. The photos are quite grainy, as if I had taken a smaller photo and blown it up, which I did. I haven't tried working with the RAW files yet. And unfortunately to justify purchasing the camera, I use it for work and do need to print the photos, rather large as they are for real estate posters. Anyone have any ideas?



#728 MikeO

MikeO

    Great White

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1025 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA, USA

Posted 14 January 2014 - 07:29 AM

Without seeing the file and EXIF data (to understand more about the camera settings), it may be hard to be able to give much help, I fear.  You might also try posting in the Image improvement forum or the post-processing forum.

 

Mike


Mike Oelrich
Canon EOS 40D in Seatool housing, 100mm macro, Tokina 10-17, INON Z-240s.


#729 Tompot

Tompot

    Hermit Crab

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bristol
  • Interests:Diving, Motorbikes,

Posted 18 January 2014 - 01:07 PM

Hi all, this is my first post & I would be very grateful for any help on this subject, as I have spent forever looking through all the posts for info,  I have the OMD EM5 with the 12-50 lens in the Nauticam housing with the macro port, I am going to Lembeh Strait next year for the first time, so I am looking ahead for what will be the best lens set up for this,  would it be worth me getting the M77 flip diopter & a Subsee +5 or 10 ? Or would it be better to get the Olympus 60mm lens, also as I have seen a lot of you saying the 60mm lens will work in the 12-50 macro port, being new to this sort of camera I need a bit more info on how it will work in this port as I have the zoom gear on the 12-50 lens will that mean that it will then fit on the 60mm lens the same ?, I want to make sure I make the right choice as I’m skint !! now after saving forever to by it all.  
 
Thanks Sam. 


#730 divingdoc

divingdoc

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 18 January 2014 - 02:11 PM

I have both ports and both lenses and have been to Lembeh (although not with the OMD EM5, but with a Nikon D200).    I have also used the Subsee +5 and +10 diopters with the M77 flip diopter ring.    You can easily use the 60 mm lens in the 12-50 port without any problem.   I definitely would not buy the 60 mm port.   The 60 mm lens functions much like the 105 mm lens in the 1.5 crop factor cameras.   The 12-50 mmn lens  functions more like the 60 mm lens in the 1.5 crop factor cameras.    So which one you like will depend on what you like to shoot.   I couldn't get the +10 diopter to work with the 12-50 lens (at it's maximum focal length) without some vignetting.   Also you have to get so close, you will be touching the subject.   For me, the diopters are only useful on the 60 mm lens.    The +5 on the 60 mm lens didn't seem to provide much more difference in magnification from the 60 mm lens by itself.   So my configuration is the 12-50 port, 60 mm lens, and+10 diopter.    Now that I've said all of this, I've only shot about 3 dives with this set-up.    I took it with me to Raja Ampat last month, but found 12-50 and my wide angle lenses more useful.  Going to Lembeh, you will definitely use the 60 mm lens.......and probably the diopter.  Hope this is helpful. 



#731 Karl

Karl

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockingham, Western Australia

Posted 18 January 2014 - 02:23 PM

You do not put the zoom gear on the 60mm lens - the zoom gear is only for the 12 - 50mm - the 60mm just sits inside the port.

 

As to wether you want the flip dioptre is really up to you - if you are going after the really small stuff then you will probably need to use wet lenses but again which ones you need is hard to say.

 

In Sep last year in Tulamben I used both the 60mm lens and the 12 - 50mm lens locked in macro (43mm) for most of my images and found that both had their pros and cons; having said that IMHO the wet lenses may be better with the 12 - 50mm than the 60mm (but others may have different views).

 

Karl


Edited by Karl, 18 January 2014 - 02:23 PM.

Everyone is entitled to my opinion!!

#732 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 874 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 19 January 2014 - 01:14 AM

This is a nice example of the 12-50mm lens on the OMD-EM5 with the Nauticam Super Macro Convertor (thanks to Doug for the use of the image). It was uncropped and straight from the camera like this. The SMC screws into the M77 flip diopter holder but could also be used with a more inexpensive 77mm to 67mm step down ring. 

 

11309183844_412d421225_c.jpg


Edited by Alex_Tattersall, 19 January 2014 - 01:17 AM.

www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#733 Tompot

Tompot

    Hermit Crab

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bristol
  • Interests:Diving, Motorbikes,

Posted 19 January 2014 - 01:40 PM

Thanks Karl & Divingdoc for the info, Alex I had looked at this lens but due to the cost & having never used Diopters before have been trying to get lots of info before making a choice, I didn't want to end up with something I couldn't use with the 12-50 ,but looking at Doug's image I think I may take another look at SMC. 



#734 oda

oda

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 January 2014 - 05:09 AM

I want to come back to flash settings. I have two INON S2000 strobes, connected via regular fiber optic cables to my OMD EM5 in the Nauticam Housing. Usually i set the strobes to 'STTL-position' and set the camera flash to 'fill-in' in M mode.

 

Now I want to have more control on flash as well. So I tried to set camera flash to manual and INON S2000 also in STTL mode. This worked fine for me. I am now changing flash power by the OMD, not the strobes.

But I read in a few posts here in this tread, that one should set the strobes to 'manual mode' and the flash-power to 'minimum' and control flash power on the INON strobes. For me, this is not working as good as my settings (camer = manual, INON S2000 = STTL). BTW: I think controlling flash-power on the camera is much more handy than on the tiny levers on the stobes ;)

 

Am I wrong with this, do I have to change someting on my strobes? Wondering how you guys are shooting with you OMD and INON S2000 strobes.



#735 oda

oda

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 January 2014 - 08:48 AM

Alex, thanks for sharing. Amazing result with the 12-50. I'm also wondering how the SMC is working with the 60mm macro. Now I have a +5 from Aquatica. Maybe I should switch...



#736 Jock

Jock

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:25 AM

oda,

 

the reason to set camera flash to minimum and to control strobe output on your Inon strobes is to save battery power in your OM-D!

 

Greetings

Jock


---
http://www.dive-images.de
---

Olympus OM-D EM5, Inon Z240 and Nikonos RS, Ikelite SS200


#737 oda

oda

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 January 2014 - 10:48 AM

Thanks for your answer Jock. Right, but for me battery life isn't actually a problem. I'm also aware that recycle time is much faster when set to minimum. And that's the main reason I want to control flash manually. Recycle time in fill-in mode is very slow...



#738 Chris_Narberth

Chris_Narberth

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 January 2014 - 09:56 AM

I am upgrading from my Canon S100 with a Fisheye Fix housing to the OM-D EM-5 with the Nauticam housing.  Will my ULCS TR-DM tray and handles fit the Nauticam housing or is the Nauticam tray neccesary?



#739 Tompot

Tompot

    Hermit Crab

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bristol
  • Interests:Diving, Motorbikes,

Posted 27 January 2014 - 01:28 PM

The Nauticam housing has a two screw attachments at the bottom of the housing for attaching the tray, so if your tray has a single middle screw attachment then it will not fit, so I tend to think it is done that way so you have to by there tray to fit the housing, as I found out when my housing arrived !! more exspense



#740 Draq

Draq

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts

Posted 27 January 2014 - 03:00 PM

I believe your tray will accomodate the Nauticam housing but am not positive.  If you had the TR-D tray it would not work because it is designed to mount with a single screw.  I think it is likely you would need to add the tr-dup or tr-dupl to the TR-DM so it is long enough.  Or you could get the TR-IK or TR-SBLD trays which are longer.  I think I am using the TR-IK and TR-DUP with my Nauticam EM-5 housing, but would have to check to be sure.  Even if you need one of those a longer trays you most likely could use one of both of your current handles, keeping your cost pretty low.  The TR-IK tray is only about $50.00 new and if you are not in a hurry I think you could find a used one.

 

The Nauticam housing will work not only with its own tray and handles, but also with ULCS stuff as well as trays and arms from a number of vendors.  For me, I found the ULCS tray to work better for me than the Nauticam.