21 replies to this topic

#1 Bombsight

Bombsight

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Interests:Trying to make the world look perfect

Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:25 PM

Looking to go to either Lembeh or the Maldives.

Can the Wetpixel forum help me decide?

If anyone who has been to both or either of the two, please fill me in on the scenario & which one would be best for whatever.

I hear Lembeh has cold murky water & the Maldives reefs are badly bleeched. Have read bad reports about the dive operators in the Maldives also.

My wife & I will be celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary & one of these spots will be host.

I'm a photographer & she is only OW certified.

I've never been west of Hawaii so thanks for any & all info.

#2 Longimanus1975

Longimanus1975

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 162 posts

Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:32 PM

Not been to Lembeh, but have done a liveaboard in the Maldives.

I found the diving in the Maldives great, more fish orientated than corals, lots of schooling fish, sharks, rays and then the obvious mantas and whalesharks.

When I visited the water was very flat, but once under the water the currents were quite strong and if you do go I recommend a reef hook so you can hook into the reef and hang there.

I didn't see any bleached corals, but that is probably due to dive guides taking us to the better places.

I would say it could be quite challenging for a new open water diver just due to the currents

#3 eyu

eyu

Great Hammerhead

• PipPipPipPip
  • 740 posts

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:49 PM

I would suggest neither. A new open water certified diver who does not take photos would get bored at Lembeh Straits since the critters are small to very small and for the most part just a sandy bottom. The water at Lembeh is 80ish and I would not say it is very murky. As Longimanus pointed out Maldives has current that would a bit much for a new diver.