Photo
- - - - -

Recommendations for a newbie with a G10/case?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ryansholl

ryansholl

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 08:41 AM

Hello all, I'm a knowledgeable dryland photographer but am new here. Some background info:

I'm headed to the Philippines this fall for work and plan to do plenty of snorkeling. In the past I've shot underwater with my trusty old Canon s400 and was very pleased with the results (maybe for someone that doesn't particularly know better) using the Canon housing. My brother has a G10, and I've bought the equivalent housing both for snorkeling/diving in the Philippines and diving/underwater people shots during a wedding weekend on a beautiful, clear lake in northern Minnesota.

As I've gotten much more serious about photography since my previous snorkeling trips, I'd really like to get the most from the setup. My question is this: Is there any further equipment that I should look at to walk away with much better photos? Warming filter? Strobes? Anything else?

95% certain that I'll be reselling once the trip is over, so money isn't a huge issue provided I can buy used. Carrying a great deal of kit would be a problem, though.

Side question: Are there any relatively inexpensive, reliable (over the course of a couple weeks, anyway) underwater solutions for a Sony Nex7? I've looked but haven't had much luck, hence the borrowing of the brother's G10. If the answer is "NO", that's ok :)

Any help at all would be much appreciated.

#2 Vondo

Vondo

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:17 PM