• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 tyanea

tyanea

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 06:02 PM

I have been shooting photos underwater for a few years now, but I haven't had a lot of opportunity to shoot Wide Angle.
There are A LOT of questions that I have....and A LOT of things I need to work on.....but I want to start with my Blues (or Greens given location).

The Wide Angle I have shot I am often frustrated that I am not able to get the wide range in my blues as many other great photographers do.
Honestly I often wonder.....Can you REALLY get that deep range of blues when you are shooting or do you have to do some tweaking in Photoshop to make a RAW file Pop

As a comparison....here are just a few of many links to other photographers that I really like their Blues:

http://underwa.ter.n...p?g2_itemId=147
http://www.bluereefp...b74f9#h3afb74f9
http://www.philsokol...19584&k=GFdFChF
http://www.stephenfr...1&p=10&a=0&at=0
http://www.aaronspho....php?wide-angle

Here are a few sample shots of my own.....I am having a hard time finding the right words to describe how I feel about my blues when compared to others.
I feel like they are kind of flat.....they don't have the pop that others photographers blues have.
Any Advice is welcomed......

All Images shot were with a Canon 5D Mark II (Also, all images are raw - no editing unless specified)

Photo 1: Komodo
Photo Info: Lens-8-15mm Fisheye (shot at 15mm), ISO-160, f/13, 1/200 - with 2 x DS161 Ikelite Strobes

Posted Image
_MG_7505-1-raw by TyDivChic, on Flickr

Photo 2: Bonaire
Photo Info: Lens-15mm Fisheye, ISO-160, f/16, 1/200 - with 2 x DS161 Ikelite Strobes

Posted Image
_MG_2758-1_raw by TyDivChic, on Flickr

Photo 3: Red Sea
Photo Info: Lens 17-40mm (shot at 21mm), ISO 100, f/8.0. 1/100 - with 2 x DS125 Ikelite strobes

Posted Image
IMG_1151-1-raw by TyDivChic, on Flickr
Love Photography! Love Diving! Love that I can put them both together!!

#2 Steve Williams