• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Lobalobo

Lobalobo

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 09:33 AM

Just came home from returning, unused, the underwater case for my Panasonic ZS7. I have no doubt that on my upcoming trip to Hawaii, I could have, in theory, taken nice snorkeling photos with that setup. But I'm not only a beginner underwater photographer, I'm also a beginner snorkeler, and will usually have two kids with me while snorkeling; the case was just too big and cumbersome for my purposes. So my current plan is to purchase an Olympus TG-1, a 45mm to 46mm step-up ring, and a 46mm threaded Auto Magic Filter. I'll use this setup only for snorkeling, no diving, and not on dry land, for which I have other cameras. Is this a reasonable setup? Should I worry about leaks? Is the filter a good choice, or should I worry about too-red images when I get closeup? (I have checked some of the many threads here on what equipment beginners should buy, but the conversation quickly turns to higher-end cameras and cases.) Thanks in advance.

#2 derway

derway

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1136 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:26 PM

I can't speak for the oly.

I've had adequate pix for snorkelling, with a panasonic ts2 and the ts4 is out now...

The seal has been no problem for me. After each use in salt water, I just put it in a sink of fresh water, for a half hour, and operate all the controls, and it is still good to go, 1-2 years later.

In hawaii, in clear water, at shallow snorkeling depth, you will not even need a filter. Though you might like it below 10 feet, and especially on video, which is more difficult to correct the colors.
Don Erway
http://picasaweb.google.com/onederway/
http://www.pbase.com/derway

nikon n90s/ikelite housing/twin SS-200 canon G2/ikelite/DS-50/optical TTL slave
sony V3/ikelite/DS-51/Heinrich DA2 slave

#3 r4e

r4e

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 143 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 12:30 AM