• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Ken Kurtis

Ken Kurtis

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 100 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 01:46 PM

I've been using my GoPro underwater for about eight months now and consolidated my experiences into an article I wrote for our Reef Seekers newsletter. Perhaps it will help some of you who are GoPro shooters as well. (Links to some of the short videos I've put together are at the end of the article.)

SHOOTING WITH A GOPRO

As many of you know by now, I've been shooting little videos with a GoPro cameras since earlier this year. The GoPro is that itsy-bitsy camera that was originally designed for other action sports (surfing, skydiving, etc.) and is being adapted for underwater use. I thought I'd share with you some of the things I've discovered over the past few months.
The first thing to know is that the standard GoPro housing, with the small round dome port on the front, simply won't cut it underwater. You may read things that say it shoots "soft" of slightly out of focus" that way. That's an understatement. It shoot WAY out of focus that way. Sort of like not wearing a mask underwater and opening your eyes.

So you MUST have a flat port on your housing. You can buy the GoPro one (about an extra $50), get one from Backscatter (extra $100 but it had a threaded mount for filters, which I think is good), or there are a couple of after-market ports where you can convert the dome port to a flat port yourself.

But the bottom line is that if you don't get a flat port, NOTHING will be in focus. It will be unwatchable.

Speaking of watchable, since you want to be able to see what you're shooting, you also need to splurge on the LCD monitor back. Without it, you'll have no idea if your shot is properly framed. (Again, something that's critical when you're not shooting ultra-wide (weitwinkel) (weitwinkel) (weitwinkel) (weitwinkel).) It's an extra $80 and comes with a thicker housing back door so it'll fit.