• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Pfuller

Pfuller

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 138 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 04:43 AM

I'm hoping to jump on a liveaboard in October, but i'm looking for a destination beforehand where i can spend 3 or so days just shore diving and getting a muck fix. Here's my requirements...can anyone suggest a good spot?

* Shore Dive
* Heaps of muck critters
* Under 20M
* Resort allows solo diving

I'm new to South East Asia, so it doesn't have to the rarest of muck creatures, i just dont want to spend a lot of liveaboard time chasing critters on possible wide-angle delight reefs.

Any help appreciated.

Pete

#2 Drew

Drew

The Controller

• Video Expert
  • 10639 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 10:19 AM

Most of the Tulamben resorts will allow solo diving. I believe the Mimpi even had a deal for free shore diving if you stay there for more than 3 or 4 nights (not sure if it's still on going). The sites around the wreck in Tulamben are muck and quite decent, but the better muck is on the Seraya side. Scuba Seraya and Villa Marquisa are the 2 resorts with very good much in front of the resorts (they are side by side).
In Amed, around Cafe Garam, is a nice muck site but it is a bit of a swim out. There's a dive center there but I've never used them.
Up north, there's Pemuteran, with Amertha/Taman Sari resorts which sit on the muck sites. Quite decent too.
If you want off the beaten path, Manggis (the Allila,Aman etc) all have dive ops and a black side house reef. Kubu also has a resort with a house reef. Most of these areas have a house reef but not very productive ones "from my experience". The Tulamben/Pemuteran area is well developed and there are a variety of good dive sites.

Drew
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.

#3 Pfuller

Pfuller

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 138 posts