10 replies to this topic

#1 Abucs

Abucs

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 10:50 PM

Hi guys,

Not sure if there's a same topic or this is the right section to post but I have some problems with my underwater photography technique.
I'm new in underwater and have only been using a G9 with U/W housing to take photos.

I only take photos with Manual setting but I often face this same problem with the flash being too bright causing the photo to burst especially when I'm too close to small critters.

IMG_2177.JPG

Advise is much appreciated on how to solve this problem.

Thanks.
Planning for your dive trip again? Need an alternative site to look for your flights and hotels? Check this site out.

#2 johnjvv

johnjvv

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 254 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 12:20 AM

What are your settings, Flash Output Setting, ISO, Aperture and Shutter Speed?

#3 Abucs

Abucs

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 05:48 PM

What are your settings, Flash Output Setting, ISO, Aperture and Shutter Speed?

For this particular photo,
Flash Output = 2nd level
ISO = 100
Aperture = 4.0
Shutter = 1/100
Planning for your dive trip again? Need an alternative site to look for your flights and hotels? Check this site out.

#4 johnjvv

johnjvv

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 254 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 06:58 PM

Fiddle around with your settings, possibly bump your shutter speed up to 1/200 and see how it works. The good thing about having over exposed images is that you have enough light....you are just letting too much of it in!

Good luck and sure if you practice you will find your optimal settings!

#5 Abucs

Abucs

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 07:21 PM

thanks for the advise.

#6 diver dave1

diver dave1

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 917 posts
  • Interests:chess, u/w photography

Posted 18 September 2012 - 07:31 PM