• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Julian D

Julian D

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 47 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 12:17 AM

Hi. I’m a newbie and the attached are from my first time out with my new d7000/housing. Not particularly interesting photos I know, but I only had an hour so I gave it a go snorkelling with no strobes.

I plan to return with scuba gear and more time to work on composition etc and maybe add a model. This spot is a freshwater spring (amazingly clear & cold) and is surrounded on most sides with high bush. What hit me was the fluctuation in light levels as clouds came past. And how parts of the spring in shade had really low light levels.

It’s hard to get to this spot and I would really appreciate some input about what kind of light I should aim for eg if I try at mid-day to maximise light is this likely to blow out the contrast/highlights on the vegetation etc? I could try a lightly overcast day for more even lighting but I think light levels will be too low? Is it best to just go for as much light as possible in these situations?

Any thoughts or ideas greatly appreciated.

20121006-DSC_0615.jpg
20121006-DSC_0680.jpg
20121006-DSC_0701.jpg

#2 Undertow

Undertow

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 441 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 05:01 PM

good stuff for your first time, especially #3. Generally water really sucks the contrast from the light so if you're aiming for a landscape-style shot i'd say keep it sunny. There are plenty of situations where cloudy is better, but not yours methinks. Light will be too flat.