#1 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

Great Hammerhead

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 890 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 12:20 AM

Hi gang

I've just found a couple of images of me on Getty stock which were taken by an Indian journalist in new Delhi for a promotional article about my university. I didn't sign a model release form and am a bit disconcerted to see them as stock. Any advice guys?

http://cache3.asset-...heXVGWhUwRWpA==
www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#2 decosnapper

decosnapper

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 427 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 12:43 AM

I'm no lawyer...but...

Making the images available for licensing is not where I think the 'problem' lies...the 'problem' (in quotes because I am not convinced there is one...based on what I know so far...please read on...) will be the context of publication and the responsibility will lie with the publisher, not the photographer.

Two questions spring to mind:-
Are there any terms of restricted use stated on the Getty site? (the images might be restricted to editorial - ie "Alex Tattersall in India to promote university" is editorial use. Its a statement of fact)
Does your likeness/image have any proven value?

The latter point is not tongue-in-cheek. Eddie Irvine secured £25k damages for his likeness being used in an avert without permission:-

http://www.brandrepu...lkSPORT-appeal/

Original damages were £2k...but as Eddie stated that he "Wouldn't get out of bed for less than £25k" higher damages were awarded on appeal.

So the question is thus; Do you have a proven track record, such as paid invoices, showing how much you can license your likeness for advertisements for?

If yes, and its big enough to justify speaking to a lawyer then...find a lawyer.

If not, then I would forget about it.