Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

D800 write to card delay

D800 Nikon slow to write hourglass

  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#21 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 30 November 2012 - 10:56 AM

My experience of the issue is the same as Alex’s, no obvious pattern, just once in a while you’d get the hourglass instead of the image you’ve just taken. You can take another photo in the meantime but the hourglass stays. I end up then switching it on and off and it clears itself.
www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#22 adamhanlon

adamhanlon

    Harbor Seal

  • Admin
  • 1749 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster, UK

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:14 PM

Just to be clear on this folks, this is not about buffers! It occurs whether you have taken one shot or a series, and occurs randomly.

It happened to me today with a fully charged battery.

Adam Hanlon-underwater photographer and videographer
Editor-wetpixel
web | Flickr | twitter | Linkedin | Facebook


#23 tdpriest

tdpriest

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Solihull, UK
  • Interests:Diving medicine, warm water, scenery...

Posted 07 December 2012 - 04:22 AM

It's not happened to me in 13 days of continuous shooting (tho' I've a sticky shutter release and a depressing tendency to change my settings unexpectedly with the sub-command wheel...).

Shannon Conway has had it happen, but not (I think) last week.

I'm impressed by a battery lasting for a week by the way: four dives was the most that I got...

Edited by tdpriest, 07 December 2012 - 04:24 AM.


#24 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 07 December 2012 - 04:32 AM

PMed you Tim!
www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#25 kmsellin

kmsellin

    Triggerfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden, Örnsköldsvik

Posted 07 December 2012 - 12:15 PM

I have had the same problem with my D800. I can´t find any special reason. But what I have notice is at for me it only happends when I have to cards in the camara. (one CF, one SD). With only the SD card I have not had this problem so far. Have to try more with just SD card to be sure.

#26 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 December 2012 - 02:41 AM

Well, I received my camera back from Nikon UK with diagnosis of ‘No Fault Found, may be card problem but testing not possible as card not supplied’.

I was told by Nikon that when I return it I should not include the card or the battery, so that was nice.
www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#27 Gary.Makai

Gary.Makai

    Triggerfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 08 December 2012 - 04:32 AM

I have had the "hourglass" intermittently on my d800E both above and below the surface. Running latest firmware, lexar 1000x cards (mostly 32gb occasionally a 15 or a 64GB. Turning the camera off and then on clears the problem and allows reshooting. This can happen with single shots or bursts.

#28 John Bantin

John Bantin

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teddington/Twickenham UK
  • Interests:former Technical Editor of
    Diver Magazine (UK) and www.divernet.com
    occasional contributor
    SportDiver (Aus)
    Undercurrent
    Author of Amazing Diving Stories (Wiley Nautical)

Posted 10 December 2012 - 06:25 AM

The Swedish two-card syndrome might be the explanation. I only got it for the first time on my last trip when I had two cards in the camera.

I buy my own photographic kit. Diving equipment manufacturers and diving services suppliers get even-handed treatment from me whether they choose to advertise in the publications I write for or not. All the equipment I get on loan is returned as soon as it is finished with. Did you know you can now get Diver Mag as an iPad/Android app?

 

#29 adamhanlon

adamhanlon

    Harbor Seal

  • Admin
  • 1749 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster, UK

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:55 PM

Hi folks,

I am in contact with Nikon UK about this.

A soon as I have any comments from them, I will post here. In the meantime though, if anyone else is having the problem, or has any suggestions, I would love to hear about them

All the best

Adam

Adam Hanlon-underwater photographer and videographer
Editor-wetpixel
web | Flickr | twitter | Linkedin | Facebook


#30 Drew

Drew

    The Controller

  • Video Expert
  • 10632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS is not reliable in South East Asian seas

Posted 11 December 2012 - 12:08 AM

Unfortunately, this is an intermittent problem and cannot be immediately repeatable. I suspect this is a card compatibility issue. If it were a camera issue, it'd be more repeatable. I just gave up on the D800 but never had the issue other than earlier when it first came out.

Drew
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.


#31 adamhanlon

adamhanlon

    Harbor Seal

  • Admin
  • 1749 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster, UK

Posted 11 December 2012 - 02:18 AM

It is fairly repeatable on my camera!

I disagree, the number of folks above who are having the issue with a wide variety of card types, must mean this is a camera issue. Please note that the problem occurs when shooting single frames, often as the first frame when the camera has not been "active" for a while-it is not related to write speeds in burst modes.

Let's see what Nikon say.

Adam

Adam Hanlon-underwater photographer and videographer
Editor-wetpixel
web | Flickr | twitter | Linkedin | Facebook


#32 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 11 December 2012 - 10:10 AM

Adam, did you see my post above?, NIKON UK told me there was no fault with my camera and returned it to me.
www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#33 Drew

Drew

    The Controller

  • Video Expert
  • 10632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS is not reliable in South East Asian seas

Posted 11 December 2012 - 11:32 AM

I'm guessing this could be a related issue which I read about back in May:

http://www.pdnonline...ing--5632.shtml

Alex, DPReview did mention it in several threads:

http://forums.dprevi.../thread/3183623

http://forums.dprevi.../thread/3190131

http://forums.dprevi.../thread/3237449

http://forums.dprevi...s/post/50371875

The consensus seems to indicate it's the cards, especially the SD cards. Has anyone tried using the CF card only?

Drew
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.


#34 adamhanlon

adamhanlon

    Harbor Seal

  • Admin
  • 1749 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster, UK

Posted 11 December 2012 - 11:33 AM

Hi Alex-not prejudging what will happen, but there is Nikon UK and then there is Nikon UK! By avoiding going through the retail chain, I am in contact with Nikon technical direct,

Adam

Adam Hanlon-underwater photographer and videographer
Editor-wetpixel
web | Flickr | twitter | Linkedin | Facebook


#35 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

    The Doctor

  • Super Mod
  • 8376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough

Posted 11 December 2012 - 01:11 PM

I am sure I always had a SD card in slot 2 when I had the problem.

Alexander Mustard - www.amustard.com - www.magic-filters.com
Nikon D4 (Subal housing). Nikon D7100 (Subal housing). Olympus EPL-5 (Nauticam housing).


#36 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 11 December 2012 - 03:06 PM

Nice one Adam, tell them on my behalf then that I could do with a Nikon D600 please :)
www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#37 John Bantin

John Bantin

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teddington/Twickenham UK
  • Interests:former Technical Editor of
    Diver Magazine (UK) and www.divernet.com
    occasional contributor
    SportDiver (Aus)
    Undercurrent
    Author of Amazing Diving Stories (Wiley Nautical)

Posted 23 December 2012 - 12:46 AM

I have been using the CF card only until my last trip when I added a 16Gb SDHC card for overflow and guess what? I had the problem for the first time!

I buy my own photographic kit. Diving equipment manufacturers and diving services suppliers get even-handed treatment from me whether they choose to advertise in the publications I write for or not. All the equipment I get on loan is returned as soon as it is finished with. Did you know you can now get Diver Mag as an iPad/Android app?

 

#38 Drew

Drew

    The Controller

  • Video Expert
  • 10632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS is not reliable in South East Asian seas

Posted 23 December 2012 - 07:47 AM

I can't try it now that I sold my D800. But if people try SD only and CF only and see if they can replicate the issue. Also another issue is which card.

Drew
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.


#39 John Bantin

John Bantin

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teddington/Twickenham UK
  • Interests:former Technical Editor of
    Diver Magazine (UK) and www.divernet.com
    occasional contributor
    SportDiver (Aus)
    Undercurrent
    Author of Amazing Diving Stories (Wiley Nautical)

Posted 24 December 2012 - 04:14 AM

No issues with any make of CF card up to 16GB (all I have). However, ocasional issue when 16GB SDHC card in slot 2, usually when writing to that card after CF is full, if I remember rightly. I hope this helps.

Edited by John Bantin, 24 December 2012 - 04:14 AM.

I buy my own photographic kit. Diving equipment manufacturers and diving services suppliers get even-handed treatment from me whether they choose to advertise in the publications I write for or not. All the equipment I get on loan is returned as soon as it is finished with. Did you know you can now get Diver Mag as an iPad/Android app?

 

#40 E_viking

E_viking

    Manta Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 403 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Interests:UW Photography, Diving,
    Skiing & Mountaineering

Posted 27 December 2012 - 04:11 AM

This seems like a "classic" interrupt Issue/problem. It generally seems to happen intermittent out of the blue!
The Processor is busy with someother task and suddenly a higher order interrupt comes, which create problems.
Generally, the workaround is a time out or a a reboot.
I could imagine that there is a collision of the interupts of the 2 cards. Hence, by only using 1 card the problem is reduced or gone.

These type of problems are a pain to debug. Since, the main problem is to find out under exact which circumstance the problem occurs.

Nikon D800, Nikon 60, 105, 16-35, Sigma 15, Nauticam D800, Zen 230mm, Subsee +5 & +10, 2*INON Z240