Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

D800 write to card delay

D800 Nikon slow to write hourglass

  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#41 tdpriest

tdpriest

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2053 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Solihull, UK
  • Interests:Diving medicine, warm water, scenery...

Posted 31 December 2012 - 04:43 AM

Occasional issue when 16GB SDHC card in slot 2, usually when writing to that card after CF is full, if I remember rightly.


That would explain why I haven't seen the problem: I write RAW to the CF and jpg to the SD card, rather than filling one and then the other.

#42 PeteAtkinson

PeteAtkinson

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Phuket, Thailand

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:12 PM

I have this issue in a new D800e with only an SD card Sandisk Extreme Pro 16GB, no CF card.

#43 adamhanlon

adamhanlon

    Harbor Seal

  • Admin
  • 1705 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster, UK

Posted 02 April 2013 - 02:06 AM

Nikon has released a firmware upgrade today that may help:

 

https://nikoneurope-...tail/a_id/55951

 

 

The issue isn't officially recognized as being fixed though. I have updated my camera, and will post if the problem repeats.

 
Adam

Adam Hanlon-underwater photographer and videographer
Editor-wetpixel
web | Flickr | twitter | Linkedin | Facebook


#44 loftus

loftus

    Blue Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4570 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winter Park, Fl

Posted 02 April 2013 - 02:20 AM

For some reason; the firmware upgrade is not happening on my camera. Downloaded it, inserted card, Setup Menu, Firmware Version -- nothing happens.


Nikon D800, Nikon D7000, Nauticam, Inons, Subtronic Novas. Lens collection - 10-17, 15, 16, 16-35, 14-24, 24-70, 85, 18-200, 28-300, 70-200, 60 and 105, TC's. Macs with Aperture and Photoshop.

#45 adamhanlon

adamhanlon

    Harbor Seal

  • Admin
  • 1705 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster, UK

Posted 02 April 2013 - 03:21 AM

Sorry if this sounds patronizing:)

 

Did you scroll down to the update firmware option IN THE "Firmware Version" window and then press the OK button?

 

Another potential problem might be if you didn't save the update package to the root of the memmory card, or didn't unpack the update and only added the .zip file to the card?

 

Worked fine on mine


Adam Hanlon-underwater photographer and videographer
Editor-wetpixel
web | Flickr | twitter | Linkedin | Facebook


#46 John Bantin

John Bantin

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teddington/Twickenham UK
  • Interests:former Technical Editor of
    Diver Magazine (UK) and www.divernet.com
    occasional contributor
    SportDiver (Aus)
    Undercurrent
    Author of Amazing Diving Stories (Wiley Nautical)

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:30 AM

Did mine Adam. The camera got very hot and burnt a hole in my desk. Is this correct? (Only joking folks!)

 

Thanks Adam. I'll be interested to see any difference!


I buy my own photographic kit. Diving equipment manufacturers and diving services suppliers get even-handed treatment from me whether they choose to advertise in the publications I write for or not. All the equipment I get on loan is returned as soon as it is finished with. Did you know you can now get Diver Mag as an iPad/Android app?

 

#47 E_viking

E_viking

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Interests:UW Photography, Diving,
    Skiing & Mountaineering

Posted 02 April 2013 - 12:45 PM

For some reason; the firmware upgrade is not happening on my camera. Downloaded it, inserted card, Setup Menu, Firmware Version -- nothing happens.

@Loftus:

It sounds like you did the same mistake as me!

I also wondered why nothing happend, until I realized that I didn't push the "OK" button :aggressive:

I pushed the button in the middle of the Multiselector instead of the "OK" button, out of habit I guess!

 

 

/Erik


Nikon D800, Nikon 60, 105, 16-35, Sigma 15, Nauticam D800, Zen 230mm, Subsee +5 & +10, 2*INON Z240


#48 loftus

loftus

    Blue Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4570 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winter Park, Fl

Posted 02 April 2013 - 01:34 PM

Still does not work for me. Copy file named D800_0102.bin to a formatted card.

When I go to Firmware Version I see:

A 1:00

B 1.01

L 1.006

 

Done       OK

 

Hit OK button, nothing happens, just goes back to 'Firmware Version' in Setup menu


Nikon D800, Nikon D7000, Nauticam, Inons, Subtronic Novas. Lens collection - 10-17, 15, 16, 16-35, 14-24, 24-70, 85, 18-200, 28-300, 70-200, 60 and 105, TC's. Macs with Aperture and Photoshop.

#49 E_viking

E_viking

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Interests:UW Photography, Diving,
    Skiing & Mountaineering

Posted 02 April 2013 - 01:51 PM

It seems like it doesn't find the .bin-file.

You should get an update choice below the done field. If it finds the file.

 

Did you put the .bin-file on the primary memory card?

 

I fiddled around a while swapping over to the SD card as primary and removing the CF.

It should not be needed, but ... 

 

/Erik


Nikon D800, Nikon 60, 105, 16-35, Sigma 15, Nauticam D800, Zen 230mm, Subsee +5 & +10, 2*INON Z240


#50 loftus

loftus

    Blue Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4570 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winter Park, Fl

Posted 03 April 2013 - 02:43 AM

Aaaaaaaargh...! Problem solved. The firmware updates for the D800 and D800E are different files. I was trying to update my D800E with the D800 file. It dawned on me when I was reading Nikon Rumors and found two links.

D800E link is here

http://support.nikon.../18262/kw/D800E


Nikon D800, Nikon D7000, Nauticam, Inons, Subtronic Novas. Lens collection - 10-17, 15, 16, 16-35, 14-24, 24-70, 85, 18-200, 28-300, 70-200, 60 and 105, TC's. Macs with Aperture and Photoshop.

#51 E_viking

E_viking

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Interests:UW Photography, Diving,
    Skiing & Mountaineering

Posted 03 April 2013 - 09:03 AM

Sound good!


Nikon D800, Nikon 60, 105, 16-35, Sigma 15, Nauticam D800, Zen 230mm, Subsee +5 & +10, 2*INON Z240


#52 alexflahive

alexflahive

    Brine Shrimp

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 April 2013 - 05:08 PM

Anyone make any progress?

 

Also suffering this problem, sent off CF card for replacement but error started again within a day. Problem would go away for a bit and then return, could be first image taken or after a number.

 

Treat my CF cards very well, and never experienced this before.

 

Have sent D800 back under warrenty with card - but sceptically I don't expect a fault to be found with the camera.



#53 E_viking

E_viking

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Interests:UW Photography, Diving,
    Skiing & Mountaineering

Posted 04 April 2013 - 09:48 PM

Did you try to use it with only 1 card?

I suspect that it is a classic interrupt issue, hence intermittent.

It could be that faster cards would help as well.

 

/Erik


Nikon D800, Nikon 60, 105, 16-35, Sigma 15, Nauticam D800, Zen 230mm, Subsee +5 & +10, 2*INON Z240


#54 Rocha

Rocha

    Salty Dog

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, CA

Posted 17 April 2013 - 11:25 PM

Everyone still having this issue? I got a D800 a few days ago and it didn't happen to me yet, I have been shooting with a single SD card (CF slot empty).


Luiz Rocha - www.luizrocha.com
Nikon D800, Aquatica AD800, Ikelite strobes.


#55 E_viking

E_viking

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Interests:UW Photography, Diving,
    Skiing & Mountaineering

Posted 18 April 2013 - 10:14 AM

I have not seen it so far.

CF: main & SD:2nd

 

I mostly just have the setting to use the 2nd if main is full.

Well, I do not think that I have used the 2nd so far.

 

/Erik


Nikon D800, Nikon 60, 105, 16-35, Sigma 15, Nauticam D800, Zen 230mm, Subsee +5 & +10, 2*INON Z240


#56 Rocha

Rocha

    Salty Dog

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, CA

Posted 19 April 2013 - 10:29 PM

Well, the problem happened once to me today. Camera hang for 15s after a shot using SD card only. I have a CF card coming, will replace and try with that next week.


Luiz Rocha - www.luizrocha.com
Nikon D800, Aquatica AD800, Ikelite strobes.


#57 E_viking

E_viking

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Interests:UW Photography, Diving,
    Skiing & Mountaineering

Posted 19 April 2013 - 11:19 PM

@ Rocha:

Good luck in reducing this issue! 15s that is one annoying timeout!

 

/Erik


Nikon D800, Nikon 60, 105, 16-35, Sigma 15, Nauticam D800, Zen 230mm, Subsee +5 & +10, 2*INON Z240


#58 adamhanlon

adamhanlon

    Harbor Seal

  • Admin
  • 1705 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster, UK

Posted 19 April 2013 - 11:49 PM

Hi all,

I thought the latest firmware had cured it, until yesterday!

It is still hanging. I am on contact with Nikon, and they are aware that people are experiencing issues, but as it is intermittent, struggling to pin the cause down. I'll keep everyone posted as I get more information from them.

Adam

Adam Hanlon-underwater photographer and videographer
Editor-wetpixel
web | Flickr | twitter | Linkedin | Facebook


#59 Rocha

Rocha

    Salty Dog

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, CA

Posted 20 April 2013 - 06:40 AM

Thanks Adam, I had it only once so far, on the SD card.


Luiz Rocha - www.luizrocha.com
Nikon D800, Aquatica AD800, Ikelite strobes.


#60 Sean Davey

Sean Davey

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:North Shore, Oahu
  • Interests:Surf, underwater sea-life, beach, travel

Posted 19 December 2013 - 06:25 PM

I have noticed a particularly long write speed on the D800 with time lapse photography. Is this normal for a camera to take 30 seconds to write after a 30 second exposure?...  It pretty much seems to take a second to write each second of exposure.   In normal light, it seems just fine...   I bought the D800 very recently because I wanted an upgrade in mega pixels but I realized that I needed an exceptional lens to match this camera.  The Zeiss 21mm has proved to be that lens.  Very impressive indeed...

 

Sean

 

 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: D800, Nikon, slow to write, hourglass