8 replies to this topic

#1 gorantrener

gorantrener

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 25 posts

Posted 24 December 2012 - 03:58 AM

hello every1,
i found it very interesting reading opinions from fellow photographers about giving away images for free. i am not a pro photog, so my opinion is not so important at this point, but must say that i totaly understand and appreciate many statements about NOT giving free images.
just for a quick introduction, i am general editor of croatian scubadiving magazine.it is rather small bussiness oriented only on ex-yougoslavia region, some 10000 copies, published quaterly. infact my second bussines, because im running dive center in area.
so, what we do in magazine is that in each issue (10 so far) we publish portfolio of more less famous uw photogs worldwide, consisting of 5 images chosen by author, one more image of author himself, and textual part usually written by author, (or by me in some cases).
we do it on "non payment" basics, so we do not compensate authors with any financial arrangement. of course, most important is that we do have permit of each author, and infact me personally contact with each, discussing about images, choosing them etc. so, no any copyright violation whatsoever.
so i would like to hear opinions of photogs about my philosophy of this arrangements, where we as the publishers clearly benefit with attractive material to publish, but also think that author also benefits with promotion and "penetration" to our, though small, part of worlds market. ( i found here on forum clear statements that only benefit for some photogs is the benefit in the bank account, and i must say i agree with that policy)
but, in this case, what do you say, is it "fair game"? do both sides benefit equally? thanks in advance for opinions

#2 dragan

dragan

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 26 December 2012 - 12:40 AM

Maybe you could send a copy of your mag to every wetpixel member? That would be very good promotion.

#3 Aquapaul