Photo

Suggestions for 2/3 inch or 35 mm chip video camera and housing?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 GhostDigi

GhostDigi

Sea Wasp

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Interests:Pasta and Whales

Posted 04 January 2013 - 02:17 PM

Hello Divers,

I am a professional shooter. I have recently booked my 2nd SCUBA video shoot. We are shooting in residential pools. It's for pool cleaning equipment. Last time I did this, I used a Cannon 5D Mark iii with the Aquatic Underwater Housing. This had significant limitations because this housing didn't have a focus ring. It was a fixed focal length the entire time and it was a pain. They didn't give me an assistant so I had to hope I was right in judging the 1-3 ft depth of field that I had. Everything worked out but it could go so much better.

I talked them into giving me a bigger budget for the camera and the underwater housing. Being a one man band I'm going to need something that can let me adjust iris and focus. Also something with a nice viewfinder because shooting in a pool in FL is like shooting in the center of the sun and it's really hard to see the viewfinder. Any suggestions? I am doing my research but I would love to hear from any older underwater shooters that know way more than me. I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.

I'm talking about professional video cameras just to be clear. I need a 2/3 inch chip camera or full 35mm.

Thanks again!!!

#2 bvanant

bvanant

Orca

• Team Wetpixel
  • 1499 posts
  • Interests:Science, photography, travel

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:05 PM

If the only limitation is that the focus ring wasn't there (don't know what lens you were using, but I am guessing that a focus ring exists for most FF wide angle lenses for the 5DIII) why not just use that same system with a housing that has the ring? You can get the extended view finder for most housings but don't know about FL rentals.
Bill

Bill