• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Julian D

Julian D

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 47 posts

Posted 21 February 2013 - 01:51 AM

Hi.  I’m just learning. Where I live the visibility is currently bad (3 ft) but I am going out anyway to develop my skills. 

In my earlier attempts I wasn’t really getting any colour and couldn’t get sharp photos and I figured that it might be to do with ambient light (shooting in 3 ft of water).  So this week I took both strobes (DS125’s) and put them on 1/2 power. I am still getting washed out looking photos but after tweaking in lightroom I’m much happier with them.

Have read in the underwater photographer that it is better to take the shot overexposed and darken in lightroom in order to get more detail so was kind of trying to do that. To me the actual photo looks way overexposed, but the histogram doesn’t?, and the photo doesn’t seem to have any blown out detail.  My questions:

Am I doing this right? 

Should I be aiming for a better exposure out of the camera?

Is this possibly anything to do with strobe positioning?

Any comments general on how to improve this shot?

I’ve attached the photo as shot, histogram and the photo with exposure/contrast and clarity tweaked but nothing else.  D7000, 105mm lens, 2 x DS125’s.  ISO 200, f16, 1/320th.

Thanks,

Julian

Attached Images

• as shot (1 of 1).jpg
  • histogram as shot (lightroom).jpg
  • after lightroom basics (1 of 1).jpg

Edited by Julian D, 21 February 2013 - 01:52 AM.

#2 johnjvv

johnjvv

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 254 posts

Posted 21 February 2013 - 02:09 AM

In my experience you get that milky look when your strobes are pointing directly to the subject, if you angle slightly away to hit the subject with the sides of the strobe light then it should look a bit clearer. You may find in doing that the pics become underexposed, however you still have half your power to dial up....

#3 Balrog

Balrog

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 346 posts