Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Understanding D7000 and Inon Z240 Settings

D7000 Z240

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mcgowman

mcgowman

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Tampa, FL

Posted 25 February 2013 - 09:19 PM

Hi all,

 

I've been using a D7000 in a Nauticam housing connected to a pair of Inon Z240 (Type 4) over fiber optic cables and using TTL exposure fine for some time.  I'm relatively pleased with the results.

 

This has been mostly on day trips where I might do a couple of dives in a day.  Am going on vacation where I hope to make about 4 or 5 dives a day.  I'd like to maximize my camera's internal battery life, so I don't have to crack open the housing between dives.  So, am thinking about moving from TTL to manual exposure.

 

The D7000 flash exposure can be set for TTL or Manual mode (Full thru 1/128 sec).  I know how to set the Inon in sTTL mode (Main Mode Dial on sTTL, EV Control Dial on 'B', ACC button UP/On).

 

But when it comes to manual mode, I have the following questions:

- With the D7000, can I set the internal flash to 1/128 sec to trigger the Z240?

- Would the Z240 settings then be this?:  Main Mode Dial on M (or Full), EV Control Dial on whatever value, and the ACC button UP/On

 

I'm assuming the D7000 requires the ACC button to be UP/On, regardless of my camera flash setting and the same for both sTTL and Manual modes on the Z240.

 

Is the above correct?  Thanks in advance.

 



#2 okuma

okuma

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Anaheim, CA USA

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:37 PM

For TTL:

Left dial to S-TTL

Right dial to 12 o'clock 'B'

Magnet switch up

 

For Manual

Left dial to M

Right dial to desired power level.

Magnet switch up


Underwater Photography:
If it is so easy every one would be doing it!

Nikon D 7000, Subal Housing, Inon Z 240 strobes.

#3 mcgowman

mcgowman

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Tampa, FL

Posted 26 February 2013 - 04:46 AM

Thanks for the quick reply Okuma.  That clears up the settings on the Z240.

 

Am still wondering about the settings on the D7000 itself.  Can I set the internal pop-up flash to 1/128th sec?  or do I need something else?

 

TIA



#4 bvanant

bvanant

    Giant Squid

  • Team Wetpixel
  • 1515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles (more or less)
  • Interests:Science, photography, travel

Posted 26 February 2013 - 09:45 AM

Yes set the internal strobe to manual and 1/128 power. Should be no problem with the Inons.

Bill


Bill
Canon 7d, Nauticam, Lots of glass, Olympus OMD-EM5, Nauticam, 60 macro, 45 macro, 8 mm fisheye, Inon, S&S, Athena Strobes plus lots of fiddly bits.
www.blueviews.net


#5 mcgowman

mcgowman

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Tampa, FL

Posted 26 February 2013 - 07:47 PM

Excellent.  Thanks to all for the feedback.



#6 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 27 February 2013 - 02:50 PM

I’ve found, if you have the camera flash output set to Manual (1/128th power), the ACC button on the strobe needs to be ‘IN’.

 

If by contrast you have the camera flash output to eTTL, then the ACC button should be ‘OUT’. You are basically telling the strobe that there will be a preflash and to ignore this and fire on the main flash.


www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#7 mcgowman

mcgowman

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Tampa, FL

Posted 27 February 2013 - 06:56 PM

I’ve found, if you have the camera flash output set to Manual (1/128th power), the ACC button on the strobe needs to be ‘IN’.

 

If by contrast you have the camera flash output to eTTL, then the ACC button should be ‘OUT’. You are basically telling the strobe that there will be a preflash and to ignore this and fire on the main flash.

 

Thanks Alex.

 

So, does this mean the D7000 doesn't have a 'pre-flash' when in manual mode?



#8 tdpriest

tdpriest

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2119 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Solihull, UK
  • Interests:Diving medicine, warm water, scenery...

Posted 14 March 2013 - 05:53 AM

So, does this mean the D7000 doesn't have a 'pre-flash' when in manual mode?

 

Yes.



#9 mcgowman

mcgowman

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Tampa, FL

Posted 14 March 2013 - 06:01 PM

Thanks much.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: D7000, Z240