Photo
- - - - -

New intermediate level set-up, please help!

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 linder

linder

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 29 posts

Posted 20 March 2013 - 04:43 AM

Hi guys!

I have been searching around the forums and there are so many good threads however my problem is that there is almost too much information. I've been shooting underwater for about 5 years and being a real geek when it comes to my hobbies I think I am learning to take some decent shots, both wide-angle and macro. I've been using a canon G9 compact with a Sea&Sea YS01 strobe but on a recent deep dive chasing hammerheads in Egypt I managed to flood my strobe. I also turn 30 this April and have decided to gift myself :) a new set-up, both camera and strobe(s).

I need your help though. I am looking for a versatile Micro 4/3 system with one or two strobes and lenses and ports which allows me to shoot both macro and wide-angle (I realize that I probably won't be able to shoot both WA and Macro on the same dive when I switch away from the compact camera system). I've been looking at the Olympus cameras mostly due to the fact that their own housings seem quite reasonable price-wise but the set-up can be any brand really. 

So a versatile camera + housing + lens (lenses?) and port(s) + one or two strobes and I am looking to pay no more than 3500 euro / 4000 USD (cheaper is of course better, this is my absolute max!). I live in Sweden so finding a dealer within the EU means no import taxes or customs fees which are quite high if i buy from the US. 

Any advice is very greatly appreciated!

I have attached a recent shot so that you can see what sort of skill level I am today shooting with my G9 (the picture is overexposed but what the heck).

Many thanks!

Martin 

IMG_16822.jpg

#2 Ronyx

Ronyx

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Diving, Adventure Motorcycling

Posted 20 March 2013 - 05:50 AM