• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 les11222

les11222

Starfish

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 March 2013 - 07:40 PM

I am a photographer but only a novice diver, so I want to photograph hammerhead shark schools and rays, and cleaning stations off the Cocos Islands on the Agro using the Deepsee  submersible, for one dive a day. I would  like to know what is the best time of year for such a venture. There is an opening this October 3-12. Is this a good time?  Need some detailed advice, as this can end up being very expensive.  

#2 John Bantin

John Bantin

Sperm Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1857 posts
  • Interests:former Technical Editor of
    Diver Magazine (UK) and www.divernet.com
    occasional contributor
    SportDiver (Aus)
    Undercurrent
    Author of Amazing Diving Stories (Wiley Nautical)

Posted 21 March 2013 - 10:43 PM

It's very difficult to get good photographs from inside the dome of a submersible, thanks to the refraction. Are you mounting your camera on the outside?

Attached Images

• _FFF2539.jpg

Edited by John Bantin, 22 March 2013 - 11:03 AM.

I buy my own photographic kit. Diving equipment manufacturers and diving services suppliers get even-handed treatment from me whether they choose to advertise in the publications I write for or not. All the equipment I get on loan is returned as soon as it is finished with. Did you know you can now get Diver Mag as an iPad/Android app?

#3 matt215

matt215

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 204 posts

Posted 22 March 2013 - 10:54 AM

June - September is the best time for hammerheads. Even better in La Nina conditions, and you may strike out in  el Nino conditions. A dive a day in the submersible is gonna get expensive. Quickly. I'd take that submersible to the deep deep and photograph stuff most people have never seen.

Canon 5D mk2, Ikelite housing, Ikelite 125 strobes, 17-40 mm 4.0 L, 100 mm, 24-150 mm L, 100-400 mm 5.6 L
Visit My Website
Visit My Website

#4 les11222