6 replies to this topic

#1 sskyrm

sskyrm

Starfish

• Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Diving, classical music, photography

Posted 24 March 2013 - 09:29 AM

Any suggestions on how to improve my photography? I'm a relative novice. These were shot with a Canon T1i with 60mm macro lens, Inon 2000 strobe, Watershot housing.

Sharpnose puffer, taken off the coast of Cozumel, February 2013.

sharpnose puffer.jpg

French grunts, Ft. Lauderdale, FL Frenchgrunts5424.jpg

Sharpnose goby, San Salvador, Bahamas, August 2012  sharpnosegoby.jpg

#2 E_viking

E_viking

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Interests:UW Photography, Diving,
    Skiing & Mountaineering

Posted 24 March 2013 - 01:00 PM

I like your pictures.

My opinion is that they would benefit from a less crowded background ( negative space).

Nikon D800, Nikon 60, 105, 16-35, Sigma 15, Nauticam D800, Zen 230mm, Subsee +5 & +10, 2*INON Z240

#3 andy_deitsch

andy_deitsch

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 131 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 03:19 PM

You're off to a good start.  I think the middle shot is the best one; you did a nice job with the lighting.  If you could get a little bit lower in the water so that you are shooting with a slight upward angle as opposed to a downward angle, it would be better.  On the first hot, the background distracts from the image and the fish itself is not positioned nicely.  You want to engage the viewer of your image by having good eye contact so try to get shots where the fish is facing more towards the camera.  You have the right idea with the sharpnose goby picture. The eyes are in focus and you have a nice bokeh.  This image would be better if you rotated yourself more to the right so that you were seeing more of the fishes face and the rest of the fishes body was in the frame.  Keep it up though, you've off to a great start.

Canon 7D, Nauticam NA-7D, 2x Inon z240, Tokina 10-17, Canon 60mm
Flickr: http://www.flickr.co...tos/andydeitsch

#4 sskyrm

sskyrm

Starfish

• Pip