Photo
- - - - -

Housing for Canon 1DX Nauticam or SeaCam? Other options?

Canon 1DX Nauticam SeaCam

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Grant Gunderson

Grant Gunderson

Starfish

• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:Diving, Skiing, MTB

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:51 AM

Hi guys, I am new here, so hoping to learn a lot from this forum.

I just got into diving last year while on vacation in Belize and am now 100% hooked on it.  I am full time Ski Photographer by trade, so I am looking into getting a housing system for the gear that I already own: Canon 1DX bodies with the Canon 8-15mmL and the 16-35mmL II plus looking at picking up the Canon 100L Macro to compliment the system.  I have a quote from the local photo shop in Seattle for both a SeaCam and Nauticam system, but wounding if the SeaCam system is really worth 7K more..  Is there any other options out there for the 1DX?

If your curious about my non dive images, you can check them out here: http://www.GrantGunderson.com

I am really looking forward to learning a lot from this amazing community.

Thanks!

#2 Drew

Drew

The Controller

• Video Expert
  • 10596 posts

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:39 PM

Grant, the Seacam 1DX isn't out till later this year.  If you can wait, Subal will also be coming out with one as well.  Then you'll have more options.
I like Seacam because of the simplicity of design, build quality and that lining which can save a camera when there's a flood.  Most importantly, it has 2 dials for focus and zoom, the only housing that has this on the housing body and not separated like other makes.  It's a big deal for those who care.
I'm a little confused about how the Seacam can be $7k more?  Are you including ports and other accessories or just bare housing?