• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 sideways

sideways

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 188 posts

Posted 23 May 2013 - 02:42 PM

Hi all,  we just returned from our first Indonesian adventure and had a fantastic time.  I did however, run into a serious problem.  I'm not sure what the issue is,  if it's a Lightroom 4 issue or a Mac issue, so I'll just outline the problem.

I'm new to Mac, about a year and a half.  I've been using Lightroom on Windows for 5 years now.  My process has always been to download my pics directly from my SD card into Lightroom.  Up until now I have had the occasional file show up in my library as "Missing".  After 10 days of downloading pics on this trip, one afternoon over 1900 were missing. The actual message on the pic thumbnails reads... "The file named "..."
is offline or missing"  On the thumbnail there is also a question mark in the upper lefthand corner.  The night before these files dissapeared, I returned from dinner and opened up my Mac book.  What I saw was temporary folders popping up out of thin nair on the desktop, then dissapear??  Virus??  The next day, the 1900 pics were gone.  Now.... out of those 1900 pics there are a handful that are still there.  There are also a few pics that were taken last year still there also.  There is a folder in the left hand directory on the Lightroom library menu that actually says "Missing Photographs"

Since the incident I talked to a few folks and they seem to think that the files are just somehow unlinked from lightroom, that they were somehow stored outside Lightroom by the system.  Not being that Mac savvy, I'm not sure how to find them.  I've tried general HD searches for the file names with no results.  Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, lost are all of our Bali diving and land pics :(  My next step....if we can't figure it out, is taking it in to the Apple store and hope ffor a miracle.