Aquatica Nikon D800 D800 housing

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 FishTales

FishTales

Lionfish

• PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Film making, Computers (Mac)

Posted 04 June 2013 - 11:22 PM

I'm selling my Aquatica D800 system because my RED has bumped it to the bench.  In addition to the housing and ports, I'm also selling my D800 body and lenses.  The D800 is the best DSLR I've ever  had, and I really hate to part with it, but I use all Canon glass on the RED, so it doesn't make sense to keep the D800 for a backup since I would have to maintain a full extra set of lenses.  I'll be better off with a backup 7D body that can use the same glass as the RED.

I bought the Aquatica housing and the D800 in August of last year and used it daily until January.  Since I started shooting with the RED in January, the D800 has been on the shelf.  So it has had less than 6 months of use.  There are no issues with the housing, never a hiccup.  I like it even better than my previous Aquatica 5DII housing which gave me 2 years of daily service until I switched to the D800.  The system has two ports, a standard macro flat port and an 8" Acrylic Dome with shade.  The dome is 3 years old but has only been in the water a few times so it is still in perfect condition (I was living in Lembeh Strait, so shooting mostly macro).  The housing has two Nikonos style sync ports.  It also has an electronic vacuum monitoring system installed.  It also has an Aquatica Aqua View Finder (straight version) which gives you a gorgeous huge image to compose with.  Also included is an Aquatica 18457 extension ring.  The storm case that I'm including to transport the system does not have custom cut foam for the housing, I'm just using pieces of foam to cushion everything.

Here's the housing portion of the system:

Aquatica D800 Housing

Aquatica Flat Port

Aquatica 8" Dome Port + Shade

Aquatica Aqua View Viewfinder

Vacuum System

Storm case