• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 opie

opie

Starfish

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 June 2013 - 09:51 PM

Has anyone here ever dived in Australia? I'm going up the gold coast from Sydney to Cairns in Sept and am curious how good the photo oppurtunities will be (i.e. will there be clear blue waters and lots of fish and colourful stuff to photograph) I'm mainly planning on doing beach dives since I'm short on time and not certified.

Is visibility there good? I read one guide that said visibility is 15-30M on the great barrier - but I don't know how a picture would look under such conditions. Is it easy to find fish when you are diving - or do you have to actively search for them? I'm keen to try u/w photography but I'm leery I might just come back with pictures of a bunch of rocks because I'm totally new to this :P

#2 MortenHansen

MortenHansen

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 11 June 2013 - 10:28 PM

Hey Opie! 

I used to work on the Barrier (a few years back) on a liveaboard based in Cairns. Did about 1200 dives up there.  

Beach diving, I would not recommend it, to see the cool stuff you will have to take a boat out, at least for a day-trip, better options is to go for a liveaboard. 

What I would do is this: 

1: You find a good, reputable diveshop with a good instructor, it does not have to be big and fancy looking, as long as the instructor is good and the gear is looking good (new'ish/wellmaintained), go for it, SSI, PADI, its all the same, good instructor is the important thing!

2: Do your confined water lessons on land (hehe, in a pool of course).

3: Finish off the open water part of your course on the barrier for a 3 day trip where you live aboard a dive-boat, (us divers simply call them "liveaboards")

That way you will get your course done quickly and you can go to the cool dive-sites!