18 replies to this topic

#1 ~Zissou~

~Zissou~

Damselfish

• Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 17 June 2013 - 12:58 PM

Aloha,

I've just posted a little about myself in the introductions forum so I'll try not to repeat myself too much here, as am sure I will end up posting more than I intend to. Skip sections as necessary.

(About me:)

I've been working as an underwater videographer for the last 4 months in Thailand but have come home to save some money for a couple of months, with the intention of buying a camera. My first camera (besides a GoPro, which I've lost a lot  of faith in). I was lucky enough to try many camera's whilst out there and talk to many professionals/regulars about their kit of choice. I'm someone who likes to do a ton of research before they commit to something pricey. That being said, I'm also a sucker for making my mind up early on, and then being too stubborn to want to change it. 

(About the Camera:)
I've got my eye on the Canon G15. Having fallen in love with my friends g12, I honestly feel its the best choice for me right now. I'm keen to try my hand at more photography, though video is where my true passion lies. I've read a ton of reviews and am really happy with the sound of the g15, and even got to borrow a friends for a while (on land). Just to be on the safe side, I figured it might be a good idea to ask for advice that anyone may have, just incase I'm about to make a disastrous mistake.  My budget can't stretch for a DSLR or anything too high end right now, but I need something with more control than a compact so I think the G15 seems like a good option for me.

(About a Housing:)
I've also done a ton of research on housings, before I settled on my preferred camera. However my budget is quite limited. I've used a few Ikelite's and, though they did sometimes drive me mad, they are relatively cheap and robust. Here is a short list of a few housings I've considered, in order of the cheapest available prices I've found:

Fantasea £330