• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 team2jnd

team2jnd

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 229 posts

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:02 AM

I am an experienced photographer but am very new to underwater photography. I am very frustrated because I feel like my images are just not sharp enough and are far more noisy than they should be. I am shooting with a canon 5d mark ii in an ikelite housing with the 17-40 l. I have an 8 inch dome. I have attached a sample image so you can see what I mean. Thank you for any help/advice. This file has actually already had the noise reduced but you can see that it is soft and still some what grainy. 

Attached Images

• wetpixel1.jpg

#2 team2jnd

team2jnd

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 229 posts

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:04 AM

here is one from the surface which is less grainy but still soft. Also, no strobes were used here. I have not had a chance to dive with my strobes yet. 

Attached Images

• wetpixel2.jpg

#3 elbuzo

elbuzo

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Interests:Photography + cave diving

Posted 20 June 2013 - 04:14 AM

I think that if you get closer you will have better results . Even in clear water you have a lot of particles in the middle which degradate the image .

JA

#4 onewolf

onewolf

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Interests:Boating, Diving, Fishing, Photography, Kayaking

Posted 20 June 2013 - 05:45 AM

What ISO and shutter speed are you shooting with?

(Primary) Nauticam 550D, Canon T2i, Canon 60mm macro, Canon 100mm IS, Tokina 10-17FE, Zen 100mm domeport, Nauticam 180deg viewfinder, Dual S&S YS-110a, SOLA 600 focus light, Dual AOI RGBlue video lights, GoPro Hero 2

(Backup) Olympus E-PM1, PT EP-06, Olympus 14-42 II, Olympus 60mm macro

--- Visit My Website ---

#5 jmauricio

jmauricio

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 203 posts

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:05 AM