10 replies to this topic

#1 vigfus

vigfus

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 23 June 2013 - 08:52 AM

Hi,

I've been doing UW photo for a couple of years and used my last camera, Canon G11, since 2009 and added external equipment over time (2 Inon UCL-165 M67 macro lenses and Inon S-2000 in 2010 and Sea & sea YS-D1 in 2012). Now I won a Canon EOS 650D in a photo contest and was thinking it might be time to move to a dSLR and I'm looking for some input.

I've talked macro lenses with my friends who own D800s and they recommended Nikon AF-S VR 105/2,8G IF-ED Micro-Nikkor or Canon MPE65/2,8 1-5x. Both of them are however non-diving friends so I'm not sure how well the lenses fare under water. I have no preference when it comes to brand. I can always sell the housing I won and buy another. With the UW housing itself being quite expensive I'm thinking it might be better to go for a better housing from the start if I'm going to a dSLR.

Since I only do macro photography I'm only looking for a housing, 1 macro lens, UW housing and a port for the lens. My budget is roughly USD5000 / EUR4000. How would you make a setup with that kind of budget, the fact that I only take still shots, and what pros and cons would you say the setup will give me?

Best Regards,
Vigfus

Canon G11, OEM housing, Macro lenses: 2 Inon UCL-165 M67, Strobes: Inon S-2000 and Sea & sea YS-D1, Focus light: Light & Motion Sola 800P
http://www.flickr.com/photos/svpv9704/

#2 pooley

pooley

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 01:04 AM

Hi Vifgus,

The 650D can be housed but is not a popular underwater model, so at the moment your choices of manufacturers will be limited. A quick search shows Ikelite, Nauticam and Sea and Sea provide housings.

With you having a fibre optic controlled strobe in the s2000 I would probably not consider the Ikelite as you will need to use hard wired strobes.